We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They forgot us!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Zoo Cafe - CLOSED

The Old Zoo Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, International, Mediterranean, Spanish, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They forgot us!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Walked here from our accommodation 20 minutes away so we were rather hungry. They took our order but it wasn't passed on and we were forgotten. Once we got it the food was OK

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bish497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    100
    52
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Continues to be inconsistent in food & service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have been coming to Broome for some years and always found The Zoo Cafe to be inconsistent - could be good but could be horrible. However, based on reviews from this month, I thought it might be going through one of its better patches. I don't doubt that people who reviewed the place positively over the past couple of weeks were right but having gone over the weekend, the cafe is back to its inconsistent past. The service was appalling - slow and rude and although the food was OK, nothing worth re-visiting and overpriced for what it is. I never mind paying (even overpaying) if the food is great, the ambiance memorable and the staff efficient. None of these qualities can be claimed by this cafe. Good luck when you visit - it's hit and miss.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ksquared2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had lunch here and enjoyed barramundi. The margarita salt melted because it was so hot. But a wonderful time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanleeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Food was delicious and service was outstanding. We went for dinner and across the road after about 6:30pm had the privilege of watching the graceful camel trains make their way home for the evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice food...good service....expensive but it was worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our waiter was great...helped us decide....atmosphere very nice...great food...close to seashells resort just across the road

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Zoo Cafe also viewed

Broome, Kimberley Region
Broome, Kimberley Region
 
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing