We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of Beaches of Broome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaches of Broome
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Broome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2009

The price we paid were cheaper than other places in Broome for this time of the year. We got ourselves a twin room - which was a fairly small but well furnished room consisting of two single beds, two bedside drawers, alarm clock and bedside lamp. A working A/C is in the room and an adjustable ceiling fan. There is also a fridge and a kettle in the room plus supplied dishes and cups.

The bathroom is a narrow room in what are effectively wardrobe sliding doors but it does work and doesn't feel overly cramped and is fitted to a good standard. Overall, I'm pleased with the room at the rate we have paid - it is a better standard than other rooms we've seen lately in WA.

The whole establishment seems to be fitted to a modern contemporary style that is not overly brash nor understated and is pleasing to the eye if not unique. An internet room is provided, plus a TV/DVD room with a large plasma TV - the notice says the room is closed after 2am. There is also a pool which is available for use from dawn to dusk. The shared kitchen is well equipped and of a high standard - but arrangement in the fridges are lacking somewhat - the fresh milk for everyone's use was mixed up with someone's personal food box.

It is a rather strange mix of backpacker's dormitories and hotel-style rooms but it does work and in March being the off-season, is surprisingly quiet. Shops nearby - a deli and a clothes shop - both shut between October and March - so a long trek to town is needed for supplies (it is a bit out of the town centre in order to be close to Cable Beach). A bar/restaurant called Zee Bar is nearby - seems a bit classy from the outside.

Reception was staffed from 8am to 10pm and I found them to be very helpful when I lost a key - they have rung several places up and chasing them up on my behalf and told me later that the key was found and there was no hassle. The reception also doubles up as a bar round the corner serving booze and soft drinks and apparently pizza. On arrival, each person gets a complimentary drinks voucher for which I was told to choose any drink on display you like - which was a large choice, particularly for largers.

I have not seen an endless list of rules except they are strict on the alcohol policy - basically only alcohol purchased on-site may be drunk in the public area. The continental breakfast is a bit of a let down - help yourself to some greasy knives, massive pots of spreads (jam, apricot, marmalade and peanut butter) and bread slices and cereals.

The "hotel" also do scooter rental at around $35 a day plus insurance - we did not use it, but this would work out cheaper than taxis if you need to have more than two taxi trips. There is a bus stop outside where the local bus stops every hour.

The site is a good 10 minutes walk from the beach - no views to be enjoyed here and is also close to the crocodile park - 7 minutes walk.

I'm glad to have stayed here - just bear in mind you may be mixing with backpackers (not that is an issue with me but don't expect 4* attire/attitude).

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleSterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 193 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2009

Answer: When it is courtesy of "Beaches of Broome".

My partner and I stayed with Beaches of Broome in Dec 08 and have to say we found the number of rules and regulations imposed by the place patronising, bordering on dictatorial. Our "free breakfast" required we hand over $20 deposit for the use of a knife- the receptionist informed that "We can't trust our guests not to steal them".

Make no mistake, Beaches of Broome is not cheap. For a private room it charges prices in line with many mid range hotels. However for $100+ / night for a 2 person room with a shared bathroom, we found stained sheets, characterless decor, dirty walls, endless additional charges, a limited menu, and surly staff attitude. This place has lots of modern facilities (nice pool, wireless internet, modern kitchens etc) but it has NO atmosphere and of the 50+ different hostels I have stayed in in the past around the world this place made me feel the least welcome.

The final straw came when we found that a bottle of wine, that we were taking home as a gift had been confiscated from our luggage and would only be returned to us on checkout (as we had broken a "no alcohol in rooms policy". To do this it meant a cleaner or similar had actually gone through our property. On checkout the staff made no apology for their actions.

If you enjoy being treated like a child, and being overcharged by staff with an attitude - then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sarahfromlondon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachBroome, Manager at Beaches of Broome, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2009

I would like to clarify two points with regards to this review:

1. There is a $10 deposit for the use of a full set of Cutlery and Crockery. $20 was for two full sets of crockery, not just a knife and yes, we ask that you look after your set because if it goes missing then we will have to charge for the missing items. A deposit is after all security to return the full set.

2. Our Liquor Licence is a special facility licence that does not allow alcohol of any sort in any of the rooms. We make a point of advising guests on check in of our licence so that they are aware of the restrictions. There are also signs around advising where alcohol can be consumed and where it can't be. Staff DO NOT go through guests possessions, they only remove alcohol from the fridge in the room or from plain view and a note is left in the room to say why we have done this and that it can be retrieved on checkout. Most times guests actually retrieve it earlier from our coolroom to take with them to the beach or to dinner. There is no problem with alcohol we just ask that it not be stored or consumed in the room.

It is unfortunate that in a 3 day stay with us there was no positive that came out of it for these guests. It is not our intention to leave a guest with this experience and we can only apologise and hope that if they are ever back our way we get a chance to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Beaches of Broome describes itself as a “budget resort” on its website. After spending four nights there in mid-June, we’d have to agree.

Whilst retaining most elements of a successful backpacker hostel – dorms, communal bathrooms & kitchens, laundry & internet access – Beaches does so with an extra level of verve.

The quality of fixtures & fittings is high, the staff members are helpful, and it was rare to see a table left uncleaned for more than a few minutes after being vacated.

Of course, such niceties don’t come without a cost – prices at Beaches are higher than other backpackers, even allowing for the ‘Broome factor’ (whereby everything is around 25% more expensive than in other towns or cities).

A good continental breakfast (regularly replenished) is included in the cost, and the shaded outdoor seating area by the pool is a great place to while away time. It’s all of 5 minutes walk to Cable Beach, and the bus into Broome Town stops less than 100m from the front entrance.

The ensuite doubles are a little overpriced, at $40/night more than regular doubles, but even the latter include colour TV & DVD player, aircon & fridge.

The bar, complete with reasonably priced bar snacks, was a good place to spend time, not the raucous, sleep-depriving locale that they can sometimes become.

A boisterous group of netballers from Karratha aside, the atmosphere was generally relaxed and calm. If you're looking for a party place, you'd be better off elsewhere.

We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Claude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Manager at Beaches of Broome, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 14, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Elisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 343maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broome hotels
0.4 mi away
Cable Beach Club Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Oaks Cable Beach Sanctuary Resort
2.7 mi away
Mangrove Hotel
Mangrove Hotel
#8 of 12 in Broome
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Broome Time Accommodation
28.9 mi away
Ramada Eco Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Resort
Blue Seas Resort
#4 of 12 in Broome
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches of Broome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches of Broome

Address: 4 Sanctuary Rd, Broome, Western Australia 6726, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Kimberley Region > Broome
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Broome
Price Range: $36 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaches of Broome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonely Planet’s Top Choice in Accommodation for 2012 and 2013!Situated just 250m from the famous Cable Beach, our contemporary stylish backpackers resort offers total luxury at an affordable price, making it a holiday makers paradise! Dorm, private and en-suite rooms are available, with free breakfast and a fun and relaxed atmosphere. Stay with us and experience the ultimate in backpackers resort accommodation - we guarantee to forever change your view of budget travel!Spend a few nights, not a fortune... that's our motto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Beaches of Broome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel Broome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing