We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Straight forward Dim Sum”

Secret Kitchen Chinatown
Ranked #590 of 5,632 Restaurants in Melbourne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Founded in 2007, Secret Kitchen has become a reputable restaurant chain in Victoria serving exquisite Chinese cuisines. Under the China Bar Group’s umbrella, Secret Kitchen is another successful brand that evolves from time to time to bring new vibes to our customers. Secret Kitchen strive to maintain its food quality, high standards in presentation and service as its predecessor – albeit with a stronger focus on a menu that combines creative flavour combinations, high-end ingredients and fresh locally sourced seafood. Executive Chef Min and Head Dim Sim Chef Xiang, both has more than two decades of practical experience working in award-winning restaurants and five-star hotels across China, the talented duo is the core of Secret Kitchen. The perfect team creates phenomenal dishes that brings Chinese cuisine to another level of experience, ranging from yum cha dishes, aromatic herbal soups and succulent meat platters on the menu to fresh seafood dishes. Some of the signature dishes of
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall I felt the standard of food has dropped since my last visit 7 months ago. The dim sum was ordinary and not exceptional. Seems like quality is sacrificed for quantity.
I did not order ala carte dishes as it was lunch.
Don't expect too much and you will have a good time.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Park7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firdtly, if you're vegetarian you'll struggle here. We had a vegetarian in our party and nothing that came roud in the trollies was veggie. Secondly, if you've not been before they don't explain how things work. This was our first visit with family from overseas and it was chaotic. The place is extremely busy, so staff have no time for you. We had to refuse a number of trollies of food before we could find someone to explain how it worked. Then the staff with the trollies didn't seem to want to explain what everything was so that we could make a decision on what to select. After a number of trollies we realised our veggie was going to get no food so we had to ask a member of staff about vegetarian food. Eventualy one lady was very helpful and went to the kitchen to get some dishes (no choice). Don't expect service with a smile. It's all about high turnover and not customer service. Saying that, some of the food we had was very good, although a lot of it was 'samey'. We wouldn't return.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chookybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Been to Secret Kitchen many times, it is a great "Chinese" restaurant with the freshest authentic dishes. Last time we visited we tried the "pre- theatre" banquet available till 7:30 pm. The food was excellent including Peking Duck and Barramundi.

Tonight we just ordered a few dishes to share. The "Seasonal Specials" included a shredded crispy pork dish which was just wonderful and mixed well with the mushrooms, chicken and "greens" from the standard menu.

The restaurant was very busy but the food was hot and fresh and the service excellent. The restaurant does a wonderful durian pudding for those who like true Asian desserts, just ask the waiter it's not in the standard menu

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ColinA640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

Saturday night, pre-theatre early dinner, Chinatown Melbourne.

I have worked passed the bustling Secret Kitchen so many times, peering in and seeing tables full day and night.

We had no booking but given the early sitting were duly accommodated with a great table, generous in its size and distance from fellow dinners.

Good wine list (not overly extensive) and reasonably priced.

The menu was extensive and with pictures extremely inviting. This was going to be a wonderful dinning experience, possibly our new "go to Chinese restaurant".

Unfortunately that is where the magic ends.

The dumplings, San Choy Bow, Peking duck and the bbq wagyu steak all so very disappointing. The wagyu was clearly treated in bi-carbonate of soda (chemical meat tenderiser). The veggies were the only bright spot.

Staff tried hard and lifted this review from 2 to 3.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelsK3136WJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

Family catch up for 7. Nice interior, plenty of interesting yum cha choices for a larger group. The kids particularly enjoyed the "pig face" custard dumplings. Lift enabled access to upper level for new baby in pram and another with mobility limitations. One staff member went out of their way to make our younger one feel happy and settled - the personal touch very much appreciated.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank curioussnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Kitchen Chinatown also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Secret Kitchen Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing