We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate Pizza - what else!”

Mercadante Woodfired Pizzeria
Ranked #138 of 4,034 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Chocolate Pizza - what else!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Everytime we come to Melbourne, we always make it a point to eat at Mercandante. The pizza, pastas are all very yummy. This time round our waiter, Andrew, suggested the Veal - what a excellent recommendation. Hubby had the Muchroom steak which was a tad well done as he asked for med rare. But we never like to complain or send stuff back. At the end of the meal, both our plates were empty! We saved the best for last, the Chocolate Pizza!!! This is a MUST HAVE.... yummm. Staff are all very accommodating and friendly. Sometimes the owner does tricks on patrons - it's all for a good laugh! Can't wait for our next trip to Melbourne!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyecougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    76
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Four of us had lunch at "Merkies" as we affectionately call it, on Friday. What a wonderful little place it is. Carlos the owner and comedian is always such a pleasure to be around!!! Carlos has antics that make some people scream, some people jump but everybody laughs. The food is fabulous every time we eat there, with the Nutella pizza about as good as it gets!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, service and an awesome atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was at the restaurant with a group of friends last Friday and we had a great time. We ordered 3 pizzas ( calabrese, BBQ grilled and Carlos's choice) and 2 pasta ( Spag gamberi and risotto pollo).
In addition to the delicious food, there was a guy that kept playing tricks on customers and that created a great atmosphere for the customers. A great start to our weekend and it helped me forget my stressfull week!! Oh yea! Must try the choc pizza!!! I'll be back soon, Mercadante!!!! Thank you for the awesome time guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hahahuhuhehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful lunch at Mercadante's yesterday. I had the lasagna and a salad and my husband had the calabrese pizza. Both meals and the service was great. It appeared the locals eat here, so you know that is always a good sign.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debnpaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best pizza!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

On a recent trip to Melbourne, my teenage daughters, husband and I went to this great restaurant in Lygon St on a Sunday night. It was so busy and even though we waited 20 mins for a table, it was so worth it. The pizza menu catered for our different tastes and the prices were very reasonable. The pizza dough was light and perfectly cooked and the toppings were fresh and abundant. Very delicious. Our plates were left clean! Thoroughly recommend the wait in queue at this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perthite3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercadante Woodfired Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Mercadante Woodfired Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing