We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad - for the price”

City Orchids Garden
Ranked #2,034 of 4,060 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad - for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We ate here on a weekday evening and ordered the $20 per head yum cha menu, which was a huge amount of food, even for two hearty eaters. The chilli chicken was the highlight of the meal, however the wontons tasted just like chicken mcnuggets - nothing special. It was pretty good value for the quantity of the food, but there is more quality food to be had in Chinatown if you're willing to spend a little more money.

The service was friendly enough and pretty quick, but we were the only customers in the restaurant for the first 20 minutes, so I would have been surprised if it was any slower.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tash2071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    49
    29
    18
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Golden Orchids restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Very old well known China Town restaurant. We walked in and had a table upstairs as they were nearly booked out. The young man who was to look after us was constantly on his mobile phone, and we took second place. The food was oily tasting and the rice was burnt on the bottom. We were rushed to leave and did not have a good experience at all.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KevinEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boort, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always the Best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant for 34 years and it never changes! The decor remains the same and while it looks a bit tired the food is still fantastic. We always have the satay sticks and they are the best ever. Their Nasi Goreng is excellent too. This trip we also tried the Chilli Prawns and loved this dish too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank delgaz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Satay satay satay enough said Nothing more to add best in town

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulwoodsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not Golden”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

My daughter and I went to "A Chorus Line" and wanted a simple Chinese meal. We ended up in this place. Chicken and corn soup served in a teacup sized portion ($5). Bean curd hot pot-did they bring an entree by mistake? ($19)Was it heated in the microwave, it was dangerously hot. Fried Rice, served on an entree plate ($12!). A lemon squash (which I've just realised we did not receive) and a cup of tea cost $43! There were those peaky little fruit flies flying around our table......Avoid this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Orchids Garden also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to City Orchids Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing