We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food experience”

Tea House at Chinatown
Ranked #288 of 4,114 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great food experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I visited Tea House on Saturday last and WOW!! I'd not ventured into Chinatown for many years and I'm so glad we did. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. Whilst the cost was higher than a suburban restaurant, which was expected, I could not find any fault whatsoever. The honey pepper beef was a stand out from a banquet which had many highlights. I cannot wait to return to this restaurant in the near future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    36
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just love the fluffy lobster omelet.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a great restaurant, although it lacks a wee bit of ambience. The food is excellent and the service is outstanding. Price is more than reasonable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KarinK711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet Chinese restaurant in Chinatown.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Our party of 4 found plenty of menu options to suit our preferences, the wine list was quite extensive and the prices reasonable. Above all, the restaurant was not noisy and chaotic, as a lot of Chinatown restaurants can be, and the service was excellent. I would eat there again, and recommend if you are after good Chinese food and a calm ambience, without spending a fortune. The fact that we could book ahead was also a bonus

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_traveller097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A truly great Chinese meal”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Shannon really has kept up the very high standard of food at the Tea House. From the Lobster Omellete to the Honey Pepper Beef the food is exceptional.
So do yourself a favour and try this little hidden gem for a great feed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyasaPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited Tea House at Chinahouse after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. It's slightly more upmarket than some of the restaurants in China Town and this is reflected in the prices. However, it was worth the few dollars extra as the food was delicious and the service outstanding.

The restaurant was buzzing - busy and with a great atmosphere. I did very well with my choice of food - I started with the salt & pepper chicken ribs and they were delicious! I then ordered the eye fillet beef in Szechuan sauce. This was cooked perfectly! Rare and tender with a delectable sauce and a very generous helping. I loved this dish and would highly recommend it if you like eye fillet.

The staff had enough forethought to ask us if we were going to the theatre - which we were - to ensure that all our food came out in good time so there was no mad rush at the end. It was perfectly timed and we walked into the theatre with 10 minutes to spare.

I do recommend Tea House at Chinahouse. If you are looking for a quick meal then you're better off somewhere like Westlakes, but for a relaxed Chinese experience, go to this one!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea House at Chinatown also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Tea House at Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing