We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, dodgy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca de Vin

Ca de Vin
Ranked #115 of 4,058 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: "Beware the bareness of a busy life." Socrates Come lose yourself in our candle lit alleyway to disconnect from the hustle & bustle of city life. Serving beautifully cooked Mediterranean food and a extensive wine offer we invite you to come join us for a genuine Melbourne dining experience.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, dodgy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Decided to have a meal here because of the restaurant's unique location; the food was generally very good (although the pasta we ordered was rather on the salty side) but the prices are a bit steep, which is expected considering the location. Would have been a very lovely evening if the service was just a little bit better - our courses took ages to come, we spent a long time just trying to catch the attention of the waiters and when we wanted to pack up some food we couldn't finish to take home we were given a box with no offer to help us pack the food. Either they were short handed or the staff just aren't very attentive. We've had very good service at other places in Melbourne so this was a little disappointing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rdiver001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    122
    24
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Food + Service + Location. True Melbourne Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Would not have known about Ca De Vin had it not being for a recommendation from a couple of Melbourne locals. Despite being in the centre of the Melbourne CBD you would need to look carefully to find it tucked up an alleyway between Myer and the old Post Office building. But Oh what a find. I made the reservation for the five of us on a business trip. Everyone enjoyed their taste of each others entre. A colleague and I shared the paella, another had a pizza while the others had a veal dish and a pasta. The wine list was quite reasonable that featured a couple of great Victorian wines.

It rained but you are fully protected. It was also cool but it had heating.

TOP SPOT. I will be back to enjoy part of Melbourne's culinary scene. I recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneSenrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Saturday evening dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were looking for an Italian restaurant with pizza on the menu for our son who was very hungry and saw this restaurant in the lane way next to the GPO building. Got a table for 3 on busy Saturday night, what we found is that the restaurant was staff by backpackers with not very waiting experience but they tried. Anyway ordered our meals two pastas and one pizza for very hungry little boy got is pizza promptly. But the food is mediocre at the best not great Italian food service is erratic because of staff not knowing what table there are serving. I found also that for three tiny little scoops of commercial vanilla ice-cream with chocolate toppings $11.00was over the top. Would advise anyone wanting to go there for genuine Italian food not to bother tourist trap.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Citizengastronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great position and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We sat outside in a little street-side setting that was enclosed by greenery and glass, but still had linen and candles, so it was not overly casual, but very elegant without being tizzy. Good service, very nice wine and simple but stylish and tasty food. Interiors looked really nice too, would be good if not so fine outdoors.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Ca de vin was the perfect spot to escape the chilly Melbourne weather. Warm, inviting and busy we were optimistic about a great dining experience, and were not left disappointed. The food was delicious and arrived promptly. Staff were super friendly and attentive and prices very reasonable. Would most definitely return here when in Melbourne next

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fourpivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ca de Vin also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Ca de Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing