We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and intimate”

Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar
Ranked #17 of 8,202 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Reviewed January 6, 2019

The place is small and totally booked out - so ensure you book ahead. The service is great and the food is delicious. During the day it is full of business people and can be quite noisy.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank conniep114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 86 of 508 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

The calamari today was the best! Try the goat on the fettuccini - amazing...silky & melt in your mouth. The Wagu Carpriccio with pickled Mushroom amazingly different 😋

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank kayf958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 1, 2019

We had a great dinner at Bacaro Cucina and Bar. Firstly, the tables are covered with a real double table cloth, so rare nowadays and a clear sign of distinction to me. Even though the cutlery was not laid down in a classic way, the table appeared already very nice with the good old table cloth. Secondly, the staff is very professional and kind. Not only would they welcome and lead one to one's table, open the napkin and put it on one's legs, but they would help you through your choice and would keep the bottle of wine out of the table and serve the wine themselves as soon as the glass was "almost" empty. And the food....the menu choice is made by real quality dishes and we opted for a duo of tuna and kingfish carpaccio-like or sashimi-like with really nice condiments, a vegetarian entrée with lovely beetroots and other good vegetables and sauces/creams. The main courses were a lovely Barramundi cooked in the oven, very light and beautiful presentation; the pork fillet and the belly dish was a masterpiece, tasty, light (yes, light!) and also with a great presentation. For the wine, we chose a Tuscan red because white can be too acid for our stomachs and in any case it was excellent. We will definitely go back

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank corrado l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 13, 2018

We loved all of our dishes. Every mouthful was a taste explosion. I had the pasta with Balmain bugs, one person in our party had pasta with truffle sauce and another had Spatchcock. You do pay a bit for what you get but it was well worth the cost. The service was exceptional.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 7, 2018 via mobile

The service experience let Il Bacaro down for our party of 5. Our primary waiter was quite arrogant and slow to provide menus and take our orders. Wine menu was very pricy; they ran out of our preferred bottle two bottles in and the 3rd was just not nice, especially given it’s price. Food was good but I expected more given this restaurant’s TripAdvisor rating relative to other inner city Italian restaurants, which were fabulous.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.