We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing find!”

Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar
Ranked #17 of 8,202 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Reviewed July 16, 2018

A small place, full of people, with a well-curated menu. Delicious and authentic Italian food, with a bit of an Aussie twist. Very efficient service from a friendly staff (special kudos to Emanuele). Homemade pasta and desserts, and a cosmopolitan wine list.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 508 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2018

My husband and I didn't have a reservation but were welcomed by staff all the same and dined at the bar. The ambience was as impressive as the food and wine. Such a busy little place. We will certainly be back and will be sure to reserve a table next time!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank georgieherring56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

Pasta of the day delicious, excellent service, very good ambience. My friend from Hong Kong was very impressed.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 26, 2018 via mobile

We decided to walk from our hotel until we saw an attractive restaurant for dinner. Il Bacaro caught our attention and we were (luckily as we later observed) given a table for two. Really, from then on everything was just about perfect. The service, food, wines (for us, by the glass) and ambiente were all excellent! Our highlight dishes were the calamari for my wife and the gnocchi for me - best I’ve ever eaten! It was a Tuesday night but not only were all the tables booked, there were also customers dining at the bar! We’ve certainly added this great restaurant to our ‘must return’ list. Grazie mille!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Geelongcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

Excellent, attentive service and wonderful food, which also included a gluten free diet.
We arrived early, which was not a problem, and the restaurant became very busy quite quickly. Whilst we knew we needed to leave our table by a specified time, it was a shame we were unable to spend more time enjoying the vibrant yet relaxed environment.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank sannsaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.