We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True class”

Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar
Ranked #50 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“True class”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

After hearing rave reviews from many friends I finally got to go to Il Bacaro with a good friend of mine. We booked a table for lunch and stayed for a good while, thoroughly enjoying the food, wine and service.

I started with the Jerusalem Artichoke and my friend had the Venison Carpaccio. My artichoke came with a scallop in ribbons and a wonderful pickled mussel. Both dishes were so beautiful in such different ways.

My friend then had the Moreton Bay Bug Spaghetti, which had the classic clean and simple flavours of Italian cooking that I love. The Bugs were lovely and Juicy.

Then I had the duck, and my friend the Suckling Pork. Again, both were to die for. I have never had such beautifully cooked duck before, the skin just melted in my mouth.

We finished by sharing the Agave Cheesecake which was the highlight for me (just!). It came with fairy floss, honeycomb, violet ice cream and popping rocks. A truly unique dish that I will come back for.

The staff were very helpful with wine recommendations. We chose to have a different glass with each course and all were delicious and well matched. It was a wonderful way to spend a relaxed afternoon, and we both felt that the value for money was outstanding, considering the expertise that was apparent in every aspect of our time there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofiaflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    73
    17
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tucked away in the quiet end of Lt. Collins”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are on the lookout for a quiet place with a very intimate ambiance, this restaurant is worth the try. Bookings are essential because the seats are limited, and there are also a few bar chairs. Servings are well plated and not as sizeable as other restaurants. No complains about the taste and it is evident that food is well prepared, flavours are not compromised as ingredients are not taken for granted. Waiters seem to frown a bit on sharing food as it is certainly not a family style place. Dining is on the pricey side. I am a bit underwhelmed considering the reviews I've read.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tan_del_MNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“small little italian restaurant”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Has a business lunch here with client. Good food and good atmosphere. I would go back, located in paris end of little collins. Some great little boutique fashion shops around for some retail therapy after lunch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We love you”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Our meal was outstanding from the moment we booked until we left. They rang to confirm the booking and than had our table ready when we arrived. The service was outstanding, the food unfalable and just delicious. The wine knowledge was remarkable, our wine was corked and they picked up on it at the same time as us and were ready with a replacement. We have eaten here a few times and this was still as good as ever. Keep up the great work.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank A12345Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good - confident, assured service and beautifully cooked food”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love this restaurant and visit almost every time I'm in Melbourne for work. Whether I'm hosting work lunches, or simply enjoying dinner solo, the experience is always outstanding. A warm welcome, competent service, and considered advice on wine and food choices. The food has been consistently good in the 15 years since I first visited. The shallow fried calamari with rocket and balsamic entree is a favourite as is the hand cut pappardelle with lamb ragu or the sublime roasted duck breast with parsnip purée. I would love to see Vitello tonnato back on the menu as it was the best I've ever enjoyed. The wine list is good, with plenty of choices by the glass with a lovely cheese plate. Staff here always look like they enjoy their work and take pride in delivering a great experience for you. The central bar does a brisk trade in counter dining, while tables sit cosily into spaces either side. It is always full when I visit and bookings are recommended. Dependable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Daring_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing