We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Italian Fare- at a price.”

Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar
Ranked #53 of 4,034 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Auckland.New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Classic Italian Fare- at a price.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a difficult review to write! Loved the food, but not the slight 'attitude' or prices considering the small portions.
This place was recommended to my husband and I, by our concierge, having asked him for a real Italian Restaurant. Having had a late lunch we were not hugely hungry, but wanted to eat at 7.30, having had an early morning flight from NZ, so we needed our sleep. We chose to have a main only. My husband had the Pappadelle with Lamb Ragu which he felt was the best Italian food he has eaten outside Italy. My Spagghettinee with Moreton Bay Bugs, Lemon, Garlic and Olive Oil was lovely and the Mixed Leaf Salad with Ricotta was amazing( it was a good size for 2 people). The wine waiter made excellent recommendations of glasses of Italian wines to go with each main, one red, one white. Beautiful food and wine- But---
I have to agree with previous reviews, that the portions we had, were on the small side, so not good value for the prices charged and the wines are also overpriced, but I think this is a problem with several Melbourne Restaurants. I also felt a slight sense of the waiters being' cheesed off' when I paid the bill, that we had only had one course, but when reading this, they should remember that many visitors get fed large lunches at conferences and/ or like ourselves have eaten a late lunch and been too tired, to wait until they are hungry enough to fit in a 2 or three course meal but still wish to experience what restaurants in Melbourne have to offer ! We were warned at the time of booking that they wanted the table for 9 pm which was fine for us. I would certainly recommend this restaurant for the food and wine, but warn people that it is very expensive and the tables cramped and to ignore any 'attitude'. Food of this quality is much cheaper in Italy and portions larger, but we did enjoy the meal we had at IL Bacaro!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bear101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    72
    16
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Still a great restaurant”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We first experienced this restaurant over 10 years ago. This time I took our son and daughter while in Melbourne on business.

The restaurant has been awarded One Hat and it shows. The food and service continue to be of the highest standard, and there is an extensive wine list. We also enjoyed the small and intimate atmosphere. It is conveniently located in the centre of the city.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doyoulikeourname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor communication”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Two couples booked the restaurant for a special occasion. Our friend when booking was not advised that our 7.15 booking would finish at 9pm. We arrived at 7.30 due to traffic, to a reasonably annoyed waiter who said they were trying to contact us to confirm the booking during the day.
However we settled in for what we thought was an evening of dining, and felt pressured to choose the food and wines, still not understanding the rush. Food was enjoyable, but expensive for what we had, and very small.
At just prior to 9pm we were told we would have to order immediately as we were due to leave! We had just finished our main course and were shocked.
Both the waiter & the maître de approached us again stating our booking was made plain by the owner and we would have to leave as the table was booked.
We were incredibly disappointed and felt the price did not reflect the meal we had in the short 11/2 hours!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoMali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great bar with brilliant service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was top notch, the drinks brilliant, a short walk to anywhere in the city. Sit at h bar and watch the bartenders mix up a storm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deemon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mouth Watering Wonderful Meals”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

To set the scene. A mother and daughter weekend away, first time to Melbourne and not knowing where to go to get a nice meal. I looked over trip advisor but got so many mixed reviews so was still unsure. We do enjoy a lovely meal with good service and thats all we were looking for. I phoned ahead and booked a table for 2 at Il Bacaro. We had a late booking and turned up early. That was ok, the lovely staff seated us at the bar and helped us to choose a nice wine to start of with. We were soon escorted to our seat where we were offered more refreshments and bread to start. We were mesmerised by the menu and were lost on decision making. The very enthusiastic and attentive waiter helped us choose the best of the best entrees, mains and desserts. With no regrets!!! The meals were absolutely divine and so mouth watering. From the zucchini flowers, to the pork main (best pork i've ever had) and to finish with the cheesecake dessert. I went to Italy 6 momnths ago and this was definitely up there with the food I had there in Italy. We finished with a complimentary glass of lemonchello and walked out sooo satisfied and happy we had chosen to start our weekend and have our first Melbourne meal at this first class affordable restaurant. Will definitely be recommending Il Bacaro to all of my friends and family that live and travel to Melbourne!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Bacaro Cucina e Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing