We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent and cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gills Diner - CLOSED

Gills Diner
Price range: $18 - $22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Formally Gills Diner, Trattoria Emilia serves up an authentic Italian dining experience direct from the region of Emilia Romagna.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Consistent and cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Always love going to Gills, can usually book with very little notice. Great atmosphere inside an old warehouse space. They always have a few tasty specials on the menu, and the spaghetti marinara is a favourite of mine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachierache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by a staff member on arrival that said ohhhhhhhh have you booked and gave us the impression that they were expecting a lot of people or that they didn't want us there with strollers as she actually said I don't know where to put you bearing in mind they were about 1/3 full and that didn't change while we were there, very weird. I thought the wine list was over priced or not many cheap options anyway and as was the beer list in the end I didn't bother with a drink because of this. The menu was limited and again overpriced the food was good but just your run of the mill Cafe fare and not worth the extra dollars there are so many other Cafe dining options that are a lot cheaper and better in my opinion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mizerpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed and comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our evening meal was fun with pleasant food and good company.
The service was mostly fine.
Would visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank violinist1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great meal and fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a great meal here - interesting menu and they delivered across the board. Starts, main course, dessert were all interestingly prepared and tasted great. Service was incredibly helpful, made great recommendation (waiter suggested a cheaper bottle of wine than we originally asked for because he thought it was a better match to our dinner. When does that happen?? And he was right). Not the place for a quite conversation, but fun atmosphere. The one thing that keeps it from excellent is it is a bit pricey but know that going in and you will enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DFarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A fab meal with superb staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went with 3 friends and had a wonderful meal.All the staff were outstanding and the food from a shortish menu fresh and excellent.Decor a wee bit bare and noisy due to bare floorboards but trifling

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sacksn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gills Diner also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing