We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing but noisy student accommodation” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne
Ranked #108 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing but noisy student accommodation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

We stayed here on and off for two weeks during a recent trip to Australia. We were very disappointed in this accommodation. The website i booked it from was very misleading. This is a high rise student accommodation that has a floor dedicated to tourists. It is on the intersection of two busy roads which makes it hard to sleep at 5am when the trams start running. I had been ill and asked if it was possible to have a quiet room - my requests were totally ignored and the rooms only got noisier each time we check in. The decor was terrible and the place didn't smell too good either.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missem78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    38
    26
    18
    22
See reviews for
23
40
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

To start off with, I don't understand what the last 2 TA's were complaining about. I found Plum Carlton to be the total opposite of what was said. It completely met my expectations.

Because of the previous negative reviews, I must admit I was quite hesitant about booking my 8 night stay here. However I knew I made the right choice as soon as I stepped into the building. The check-in counter is literally a counter at the entrance of the security entrance. To be able to get into the lobby, you need to be issued you a swipe card. Great security!

Check-in staff were immaculately dressed and very lovely - I only had to deal with them during check-in and check-out.

I booked a one bedroom apartment and got a decent rate of $98/n. Being only 3 tram stops from Melbourne Central Mall (or a 5min walk), the location was really convenient. There is a tram stop right infront of the apartment but I didn't feel that the street traffic was a disruption. It was more annoying when people had loud conversations outside in the hallway.

And unlike most places, the room looked exactly like the pictures!!

Kitchen is very modern with full facilities - dishwaser (dishwashing liquid provided), microwave, stove, cockery & utensils, fridge, electric jug, toaster & vacuum cleaner.

Bathroom was very clean and equipped with hairdryer, iron, and clean fresh towels every day. Only a 'light room service' is provided, which basicaly means emptying out of rubbish and replacing towels.

My only complaint here is the tiny shower cubicle. It's a weird shaped cubicle that only has a soap holder with no other ledge. I'm rather petite and managed to comfortably fit in there by angling myself according to the cubicle shape. However bending down to pick up the shampoo etc is a squeeze.

There is a lot of natural light because there is almost a ceiling to floor window in the living area and a small window in the bedroom.

The bedroom is spacious with clean and new-looking sheets. There is a wardrobe, portable heater, and 2 bedside tables with lamps. Sliding doors separate it from the living area and the ensuite.

The living area is decent sized, with a tiny dining table and 2 chairs, a 2 seater couch, coffee table and tv set. There was also a dvd player which is great!!

Yes the carpet is stained in some places and there are a few marks on the wall, but otherwise the facilities are almost like new.

All in all, Plum Apartments was the best second home for our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edamames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2009

Stayed there based on the first 2 reviews, the pervious one had been posted before I booked. Shame as it is pretty spot on

Agree with most of it, but actually found the staff very helpful.

The accommodation is basically student accommodation and overpriced and would no way be advertised as an apartment. Very basic, dingy and dark rooms.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fawlty_T0wers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Adelaide
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

These apartments are rated at a 4, these apartments are at best a 3. The apartments were small...which didnt bother me, it was the dirtiness of them. Stains on carpets and furnishings. The toilet had only been cleaned on the seat, under seat and back of seat were beyond disgusting. As was the little kitchen. It is a high rise apartment block, with 100 apartments, 22 are for motel use, the others are for uni students or permanent rentals. The noise from the permanents was so loud, and all night, the cooking of food stench filled the corridors and our room. Large groups of people filled the lobby and corridors (uni students wether they lived there or not) The managment were not friendly or helpful, said they would get us a fold out bed, never saw them again over the next 3 nights! The units were over priced at $130-$140 per night for 2. So many nicer places in Melbourne and cheaper. The only thing that was good was tram at door.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moonieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2008

We hadn't been to Melbourne before, and I found a really decent review for this hotel, and we found a really great price on Not1Night (hadn't used them before and they were cheaper than wotif or direct from the hotel). We stayed 4 nights and it averaged about $116 for a one bedroom apartment.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. I was attending a conference at Melbourne uni and it was less than 10 minutes walk to the building we were in. The city also is only a 10 minute walk, nice and easy, and Lygon st with lots of nice restaurants is also only about 10 minutes.

We asked for a quiet room as we'd heard the trams could be noisy. The room was pretty good, it only opened onto the internal courtyard. The only issue was that the smokers gathered in that courtyard and we were on the first floor and it would drift in a bit, and when we turned the air conditioner on the whole apartment smelled like smoke.

It was recently refurbished, and the one thing I wish they had've done was have a bath tub or a slightly larger shower. We had our toddler with us and had to share a shower with her in very cramped conditions. Would have been ok if I didn't need to bathe a toddler though.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The smoke from the smokers in the courtyard
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ElyGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2008

booked on not1night website and got a pretty good price of $115 per night over a long weekend. the apartments are located amongst student accommodation and are well furnished and quiet (other than a bit of street noise which was minimal). Ours was clean, modern and well equipped with kitchen facilities but the carpet and walls were marked here and there. The biggest advantage in staying here (as opposed to a number of other places i have stayed whilst holidaying in melbourne) is the proximity of lygon street, bourke street mall and queen vic markets, all within walking distance. A longer walk to brunswick street, and anywhere else is an easy tram ride, as the tram is straight out front and goes directly into town, mcg, telstra dome and st kilda. i would stay again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of pay TV
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travellingtonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#49 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Arrow On Swanston
#126 of 160 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Apartments on Flemington
#122 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#96 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Alston Apartments Hotel
#30 of 133 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne

Property: Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne
Address: 528 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Carlton Serviced Apartments Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing