We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy mexican food...long wait for drinks”

Amigos Chapel Street
Ranked #2,098 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chapel Street
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“yummy mexican food...long wait for drinks”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I dined at this restaurant on a friday night in April, it was very busy and noisy making conversing with friends very hard. The food was delicious and came out very promptly, but ordering a drink was hard, waiters often forgot to come back to take your drink order after they had given you the menu and were very busy and hard to flag down when wanting to order a drink. Drinks also took a long time to come out as there was only one bar tender making cocktails for the entire restaurant....however when they came out they were delicious.
Waiting staff were at times dismissive and not so friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natties23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive and overrated”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were told this was the best place to go for Mexican food. Not only were we shocked by the prices but what we got food-wise for the price was also insulting. We later found out there were far better Mexican places around for a third of the price. Our waitress' english was horrible and could barely understand us and it seemed one of the cooks was fighting with management when we went to pay. Very unprofessional and awkward.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawadjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Here's a place where they've probably never even seen real Mexican food”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having lived in California and Flroida I haunted a number of Mexican and Latin American restaurants and know a thing or two about decent Mexican fare whether it's California interpretations of it or true Yucatan dishes and flavors or the incredible taste of a pig with Michocan seasonings put in a pot at 4am and ready to eat at 8am. Amigos is actually the worst food labeled Mexican I have ever come across. We ordered the chicken fajitas to share and it came out in some sauce that looked like it had been strained from a Chef Boyardee Beefaroni can and had absolutely no taste. The chicken, while tender, also was basically flavorless.

We ordered chips and salsa and the salsa looked like a can of tomato sauce had been opened up and some grated raw onion had been spread on it - it was quite bad. The only saving grace of this place was that it served Jarritos - imported Mexican soda - it's hard to screw up something that comes imported ready to consume in a bottle.

Finally, The service was average but the server didn't seem to know much about the food she was serving and finally, some reviews have commented on the prices. Yes they were steep for Mexican food although we are aware that prices in Australia versus the US can be a bit of a shock. But paying those prices for someone who obviously knew jack about Mexican food was just the end. I would heartily recommend people stay as far away from this place as possible

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chowdog65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
664 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,266 helpful votes
“Amazing prices!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Mexican food has always been one of those great inexpensive ethnic foods that you can count on to fill the craving at a small or very reasonable price. I was really startled by Amigo’s prices and couldn’t imagine what you could stuff a burrito with to make it worth $24! So I order one skimpy enchilada with beef which came with a choice of three sides; I order black beans all for the horrific price of $13 and that was almost the cheapest item on the menu. When it arrived it came with rice- the waitress indicated that “it always comes with rice”…so why offer two other sides??? I’ve never seen a loaded plate of nachos for one person over $20…but Amigo’s has one! Must say their guacamole was very good, creamy, nicely spiced and with chunks of avocado. But Aussies must make really good wages to pay these prices because everyone else is eating Mexican for a lot cheaper. Take a pass on these prices unless you are a glutton for punishment!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Was there January 1, place was packed. Service considering the work they had was very good however the nachos with beef was well overpriced and far from Mexican both geographically and culinary. Cudos to the two waitresses taken care of the croud.

Helpful?
Thank SoloGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos Chapel Street also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Amigos Chapel Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing