We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable meal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Abyssinian

The Abyssinian
Ranked #330 of 4,054 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Been wanting to try this restaurant for awhile. Knew that you eat with your hands, not with utensils, but there is still something off putting ripping a pancake like substance and mopping your meal up to eat.

Food was of good value. We ordered a share plate for two, as did most in the restaurant. Dishes were nice. Service was distracted during the night, but I didn't feel annoyed. Just needed to catch there attention. Food contained Dahl type dishes, long with goat and other traditional Ethiopian meals. Had a good meal at a reasonable place. Happy to suggest, but won't rerun again myself.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RohanB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Ethiopian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good quality Ethiopian food and beer, served in the quaintly decorated surrounds has brought us back time and again. Be prepared to eat your food by the handful in the relaxed surrounds, sharing your dishes amongst you party in Ethiopian way, eating from the same large platter. Do book ahead as the place fills quickly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We've been to the Abyssinian on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The vegetable dishes are all wonderful and the restaurant staff are very helpful if you have any questions about the menu. If you're not familiar with Ethiopian food, I highly suggest trying the Abyssinian. But if you're going on the weekend, be sure to make a booking because it fills up very quickly!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stefmsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
258 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“A different cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I'd never been to an Ethiopian restaurant before, so it was a new experience. We ordered dishes off the menu, and asked to share them, because the platters are apparently huge and we felt like a more modest meal. They arrived on a platter, each arranged on top of a pancake. I particularly liked the vegetable dish, which was quite delicately spiced, and the veges were very fresh. I'd have liked to have known a bit more about what the spices were, just to know what gave the food its flavour..

Eating with fingers, rolling the food up in pieces of pancake was fun too. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the food, and I'd definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Selsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Aust
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dinner with an experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I visited Abyssinian with a couple of friends and we ordered the Chef's sharing platter. It was a nice social way to share food, and to try a lot of the menu at once.
The food was tasty and the atmosphere was relaxed.
I would recommend this place for a relaxed night out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emilyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Abyssinian also viewed

 

Been to The Abyssinian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing