We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, amateurish service”

Kanpai Japanese Restuarant
Ranked #1,378 of 4,034 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chapel Street
Lot-et-Garonne
Level Contributor
401 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Good food, amateurish service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Once again, TripAdvisor has the address wrong. This restaurant is in South Yarra, near the corner of Chapel Street and Toorak Road.
I was prepared to get a bit irritable, because the waiters, although apparently trying to please, are poorly trained; amateurish, forgetful, and ill-versed in western table manners. For that, the management takes the blame, including the fact that we virtually ate in relays, with one person's dish coming out ten minutes after the first.
However, the food, when we got it, was very good, bordering on very good indeed. The chef may be a bit disorganised, but he knows what he's doing. And the prices were, well, if not exactly bargains, at least pretty reasonable. I plan to go back and see if the service experience was just one bad night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    36
    17
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uga, Spain
Level Contributor
503 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Lacks Sushi Flavour”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sushi was not presented very well but importantly lacks flavor.

Walked in off the street where the temperature was 32 degrees celsius and the waiter didn't offer us any water for the table just the menus. After we placed an order he brought some water to the table. Not how i would have greeted potential spending customers.

Place looks more like a cafe than a restaurant.

Their website has their menu..

I would not dine here again

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitepointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great good and great price”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The food the service and the price were all great in this restaurant. Busy and great atmosphere on a Saturday evening and I highly recommend the Katsu Don!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleSezzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Death Valley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Return to Kanpai”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I haven't been to Kanpai for about ten years but it's good to see nothing's changed. Still great food and reasonable prices. Not a bad wine list as well. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeathValleyDede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value for Japanese cuisine”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I enjoy going to this restaurant during the weekdays. The food and Japanese beer is good, and prices are affordable. We usually go once a month.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkawa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanpai Japanese Restuarant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Kanpai Japanese Restuarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing