We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pint and a Parmy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James Hotel

The James Hotel
Ranked #2,711 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $18 - $44
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The James Squire Hotel offers premium casual dining in a relaxed atmosphere and specialises in Modern Australian cuisine with Colonial influence utilising only the freshest and best local produce.Showcasing a range of hand-crafted beers that are truly enjoyable to drink, each with its own distinctive flavour, amazing aroma and rich colour. The pub has a relaxed and inviting feel where people can sit back on a chesterfield lounge and enjoy a leisurely pint with friends, or take a seat at a rustic style table for a meal either inside or in the outdoor area. Floor to ceiling windows make the most of the prime waterfront position and city skyline views.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pint and a Parmy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We'd arrived in town late on a Tuesday night and were staying just up the road from the bar.
The waterfront was pretty deserted on a cold evening and we thought we'd have to venture in to town for a bite to eat and a drink but found that the bar was still open.
We could see the kitchen staff cleaning up and there were only around a dozen or so people in the place but to their credit they agreed to cook us a meal and we ordered some drinks and food and were served shortly afterwards.2 of us had the Parm and a third had the pie.
Service was friendly and efficient (even though they were getting ready to close for the evening) food was plentiful, well cooked and good value. I'd definitely go back again if in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vidmar96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    24
    16
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Some of the best beer in Oz and a great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The decor is cheap and contrived but the view over the water is great and the beer is brilliant. I am from Western Australia and we pay a lot for beer here but this place was probably $1 a pint more expensive - that annoys me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scaifes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pot and a Parm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We've been to James Squire a few times for their Pot and a Parm deal (Tuesday nights) - which is a pot of beer or cider + a chicken parmigiana (several styles to choose from) for $15. It's a good deal. The service is efficient, but not overly friendly. The food is tasty - not fine dining, but decent pub food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sand175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food soggy and overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The view was nice, the staff fantastic - very attentive and friendly but the food was lacking. Sitting out front was very loud. The music volume did not match the few people sitting outside trying to talk. I felt like i was in the middle of an identity crisis. Calamari salad was soggy and flavorless and came with a few lettuce leaves. Was very disappointed. My partner got a Parma and he was also underwhelmed. Unfortunate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very disappointed. I was given a voucher for this restaurant and when I went to use it I was told they would not accept it. I don't know what kind of a business issues vouchers they do not accept, but this is one of them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fuz31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The James Hotel also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing