We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to meet friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiamo

Tiamo
Ranked #104 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lygon Street
Northam, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Met for dinner with friends and were given a reserved table upstairs. Food was simple but great Italian. I have previously eaten at Tiamo 2 with my husband and enjoyed it then too. Wish it was a bit closer to home!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ESSOinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    200
    51
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
187 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice Italian food without pretence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We came out of the Nova cinema around 8.30 pm feeling hungry so we went across the street for a quick meal at Tiamo 2. Service was prompt, efficient and courteous. A glass of Chianti and a bottle of water with glasses appeared soon after we sat down. Our meals came quickly and were very well cooked - no soggy veges just cooked as they should be. The grilled rockling was sweet and succulent as were the 5 lamb cutlets. With a good short black to follow it hit the spot precisely for both of us. Thoroughly enjoyed as a place for a good Italian meal with excellent service. Not fine dining but a solid, no-frills place for a good meal. We'd certainly return and recommend it to friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Delicious food - the seafood is divine. Reasonable prices for the high quality of food.
Prompt service and nice to be in one of the original Italian restaurants of Lygon Street.
I will definitely return when next in Melbourne.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChChLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Eat like a local!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Actually two adjacent restaurants, Tiamo and Tiamo 2. There are two menus and two kitchens but you can chose from either irrespective of where you sit. Lygon St has become fairly jaded and tourist-orientated, but this place is a real find. It has an authentic Italian feel to it, a great atmosphere and the food is fantastic. It's always busy and has great buzzy vibe. The staff are quick and efficient but don't make you feel rushed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JHKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This restaurant is really lovely from the decoration to the food, the food is authentic Italian cuisine.
The staff are really friendly and helpful. I would really suggest visiting here if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Indigo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiamo also viewed

 

Been to Tiamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing