We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location good place to stay”
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #74 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
920 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Great location good place to stay”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at the Oaks for a week, all up very good, attentive check in and front desk service.

Only frustrating aspect was that at spot on 10 am every day the house keeping would call to see if they could do our room, as we were there for a week holidaying, somedays you like to just take it easy in the am, rather than racing out the door promptly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent week-long holiday in Melbourne which I trust was an enjoyable one. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed Oaks on Lonsdale and all that it has to offer.

I do note your comment regarding the daily housekeeping service and certainly understand that this may have been a little frustrating for you. Our housekeepers do try to service the rooms in a timely manner so for furture reference, I would highly recommend hanging a 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the outside of your entry door so that the housekeepers do not bother you whilst you are trying to relax on your holiday.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again when you are next in town and thank you once again.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    397
    118
    44
    29
See reviews for
172
321
50
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

After extensive research amongst all the Quest and Oaks accommodation in the city. We are happy with our selection. We stayed a total of 8 nights and we ended up leaving as happy lodgers.

From check in to room cleaning. All were excellent. And it was the only service apartment we found that had ensuite dryer and washer. Very important when travelling with a toddler. It had a fully equipped kitchen with Smeg oven and stove.

We took the 1 bedroom city view on the 18th floor. The apartment had a huge dining and living area. Good for space for toddler to crawl around. If there is a small complaint I would rather have higher floors as we could still hear the emergency vehicles which were quite plentiful over the weekend. But we can complaint as they gave us our rooms very early at 10.30am.

The apartment is strategically located away from the busy streets within the city. Trams and trains (parliament station) are literally 2 mins walk. There is also a IGA convenience store to stock up on groceries right below the apartment.

For good eats try longrain (Thai fusion) on lil Bourke st. Do make reservation. For gelato there is a small gelato shop within Spring St. Grocery which is to die for. For Indian try red pepper along Bourke street. For good craft beer and chicken or veil Parma check out Mrs Parma on lil Bourke st. But our fav eatery near Oaks is Takumi Japanese BBQ along Bourke street. If u are fan of amazing cuts of wagyu this is the place. Do note it's very pricey.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SnappyFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for providing very detailed feedback to both management and also fellow travellers considering Oaks on Lonsdale as their accommodation option for staying in Melbourne CBD.

Whilst the sounds of the city is something we are unable to avoid due to our central location, I am glad you also found the location to be convenient for you in so many ways.

Equally glad to hear that the 'crawling space' available to your toddler in our 1 bedroom apartments living area with floating floorboards was advantageous.

Hope to see you again soon and thanks once again for your feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed as part of a three week trip between 10 and 15 March 2014. We stayed in a studio (1 bedroom), which was functional, but a little dated. It could have been a little cleaner, but we really only used it as a base. The staff were courteous and professional. Couldn't be too disappointed, it was basic but acceptable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments pertaining to your recent stay with us and we have taken your comments on board accordingly. Whilst we strive to be a little more than acceptable, we certainly appreciate your honesty.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

A busy weekend in Melbourne because of the Grand Prix (we came for the football) so there were few hotels available with rooms below $200 - the maximum I usually look for when coming here. I ended up paying quite a lot more for this accomodation. It was acceptable, spacious room, good kitchen if you wanted one, nice little balcony. But there was no special feel to the place or nice finishing touches - no biscuits, no Earl Grey tea bags and no shower cap. I rang to ask for a shower cap and was told,it was not the hotel policy to provide the ! Very irritating if you have long hair.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I hope you enjoyed the football game on the very festive Australian F1 Grand Prix weekend here in Melbourne! I certainly appreciate your feedback on the apartment offerings and will consider these for future improvements.

Kind regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Oaks on Lonsdale when in Melbourne for work. The room was lovely with an amazing view. The only thing I can fault is after the $150 bond not being returned after 7 days I had to contact them to ask where it was. It's now the weekend again so probably won't see the money until Monday or Tuesday. That's a bit frustrating. But otherwise I will stay there again and hope the bond situation happens in a more timely manner. Also in a good location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NikkiW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Happy to hear you found the apartment to your liking and thanks for your comments. With regard to the pre-authorisation on your credit card, feel free to call us so we can discuss faxing your bank to ensure this process has been finalised. It is an automated process but sometimes lengthy dealys can occur and we can action by way of fax to speed the process up on your behalf.

Many thanks, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and was impressed from start to finish. Staff were all very friendly and willing to help. We had a one bedroom apartment on the 23rd floor, all furnishings and appliances were in really good condition, there was plenty of space and had a great view of the city.
The complex itself is situated close to all bus, tram and train routes. There are ample restaurants and shops within walking distance. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: One bit of advice for future guests, the one bedroom apartment is well worth the bit of extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks you for your comments regarding your stay with us at Oaks on Lonsdale in February 2014. Glad that you felt we were deserving of a rating of 5 and that you found all facets of your stay to be excellent. I certainly agree with you on your tip also, very importnant for all future bookers to consider this.

I hope that your Australian holiday was enjoyable in its entirety and thanks once again for your feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Oaks was a superb location for walking in Melbourne. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.
We had a room on the 8th floor facing the Parliament and a view of the city. The room was well appointed with facilities for self catering if necessary. The apartment was serviced every day. The staff were very helpful and buses stopped right outside the hotel. A small mini market and coffee shop was also next door. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 8th or 9th floor facing the Parliament.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGee1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Very pleased to hear your comments regarding your stay with us at Oaks on Lonsdale. We strive to excel in all facets of our service and facilities provided and it seems we have met your expectations. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future and trust that your Australian adventure is still going well for you.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#43 of 159 in Melbourne
1,400 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#123 of 159 in Melbourne
337 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#91 of 159 in Melbourne
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 159 in Melbourne
1,630 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Property: Oaks on Lonsdale
Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing