We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend!”
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #77 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here with a with a friend for 3 nights over the Australia Day weekend. Everything was fantastic. The room was very quiet, well equipped and the beds were so comfortable. The hotel is central to the museum, Her Majesty's Theatre, the city circle tram stop, Chinatown and also has an great IGA supermarket just about next door. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you kindly for your comments regarding your stay with us over Australian Open weekend and happy to hear you could not fault the property or service received. I trust you had a great time at the Open and were able to cool down sufficiently upon returning to the hotel!

We will see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
There are newer reviews for Oaks on Lonsdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 897 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

We rented a 1-bedroom (twin) for 5 nights at this central serviced apartment. Apart from a lack lustre welcome from a receptionist (where is service with a smile?) we loved it. The apartment was roomy with lots of wardrobe space, good kitchen and a balcony to view the city from. It was serviced daily, beds made and fresh towels supplied. We were able to get extra pillows, towels and found all the staff very pleasant and helpful. Supermarket next door and a tram stop close by. I will recommend to friends - and stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you kindly for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will address them. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the apartment and hope we have the pleasure of accommodating you again when you are next in Melbourne.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My partner and I will never return to this hotel!!

We barely got any sleep because they join single beds up to make up larger beds! Apparently in the whole building they do not have 1 double, queen or king size bed.

In our booking description it said "one extra large double". We were given two single beds joined by a strap and with blankets on top to cover this. The beds were different heights so not only could you feel a huge lump in the bed, there was a drop between the two sides!!

When we complained the rude receptionist basically said no one else has ever had a problem. After speaking to "Bhavin" the manager and being hung up on, he agreed to refund us the 2nd night. We were checked out after the first night as we could not bare another night on that bed. Mantra on Russell Street were only too happy to provide us with a comfortable bed in a studio apartment for a much better price.

My complaint to head office was responded with "Unfortunately, all beds are king split so they weren’t able to find a large double bed at the property which wasn’t a kind split"

For $550 for a two night stay in a one bedroom apartment this is poor effort.

My advice is to spend your money elsewhere :)

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else with proper beds and kind staff !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We are sorry to hear that you found the bed you stayed in was uncomfortable and this has been rectified as a matter of urgency to prevent future guests experiencing the same issue.

As previously stated in direct correspondance prior to this Tripadvisor post, at no stage did anystaff member hang up on you including the Front Office Manager who was incapale of safely taking your initial phone call and called you back when he was able to.

I apologise that your expectations were not met on this occasion but thank you for your feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have just stayed at this property for 3 nights with 7 friends. The apartments were fantastic, well located, with lovely outlooks, clean and well maintained. Our check-in and out was very quick and no request was too difficult. Can highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

I am very pleased to read your comments and that you found your stay to be faultless. We pride ourselves on providing clean and well maintained apartments for all guests to enjoy and of course all with a smile from our helpful team. See you soon and hope the weather was OK for you!

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent Christmas at the Oaks. Our one bedroom apartments was quite spacious and newish furniture and fittings made it very comfortable. The location is excellent for Parliament station and the College of Surgeons. There's a handy supermarket and bottle shop just a couple of doors away for basic supplies. It's not far to anything in the city. After two visits, it is becoming a favourite. Lacks full hotel facilities like restaurants or lounges, but a good choice if you want more than a hotel room and prefer to prepare your own food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

We appreciate your positive comments regarding your experience over Christmas when you stayed here at Oaks on Lonsdale. Our location seemingly is quite popular with all the guests that venture our way. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to your 'favourite' in the near future.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Just had a great 6 days in a one bedroom apartment, it is certainly worth the extra money. Room service was excellent and staff helpful. The only criticism I had was that there was no washing machine in the apartment. I enquired about this on Thursday and was told a report would be made to maintenance. Again on Friday we asked at reception an explanation was given that she would contact maintenance and have a spare machine put in the room. We checked out today (Sunday) still no sign of washing machine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments though a little disappointed to hear that the washing machine was not installed into your apartment as promised. I shall investigate as to why this did not happen and ensure that no reoccurence happens in the future. My sincerest apologies on behalf of the team here at Oaks on Lonsdale

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment in January 2014. The staff were lovely and very accommodating, the room was magnificent and well worth the $$ paid. Compared to other hotels I have stayed at in the CBD oaks on lonsdale was by far the best.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebekahA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thanks for your comments and happy to hear you found all aspects of your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale pleasurable and to your satisfaction.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#128 of 160 in Melbourne
391 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,765 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#46 of 160 in Melbourne
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#82 of 160 in Melbourne
2,257 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,101 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $106 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing