We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central Melb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #66 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great central Melb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We rented a 1-bedroom (twin) for 5 nights at this central serviced apartment. Apart from a lack lustre welcome from a receptionist (where is service with a smile?) we loved it. The apartment was roomy with lots of wardrobe space, good kitchen and a balcony to view the city from. It was serviced daily, beds made and fresh towels supplied. We were able to get extra pillows, towels and found all the staff very pleasant and helpful. Supermarket next door and a tram stop close by. I will recommend to friends - and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you kindly for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and will address them. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the apartment and hope we have the pleasure of accommodating you again when you are next in Melbourne.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    358
    95
    40
    24
See reviews for
150
284
43
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My partner and I will never return to this hotel!!

We barely got any sleep because they join single beds up to make up larger beds! Apparently in the whole building they do not have 1 double, queen or king size bed.

In our booking description it said "one extra large double". We were given two single beds joined by a strap and with blankets on top to cover this. The beds were different heights so not only could you feel a huge lump in the bed, there was a drop between the two sides!!

When we complained the rude receptionist basically said no one else has ever had a problem. After speaking to "Bhavin" the manager and being hung up on, he agreed to refund us the 2nd night. We were checked out after the first night as we could not bare another night on that bed. Mantra on Russell Street were only too happy to provide us with a comfortable bed in a studio apartment for a much better price.

My complaint to head office was responded with "Unfortunately, all beds are king split so they weren’t able to find a large double bed at the property which wasn’t a kind split"

For $550 for a two night stay in a one bedroom apartment this is poor effort.

My advice is to spend your money elsewhere :)

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else with proper beds and kind staff !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you found the bed you stayed in was uncomfortable and this has been rectified as a matter of urgency to prevent future guests experiencing the same issue.

As previously stated in direct correspondance prior to this Tripadvisor post, at no stage did anystaff member hang up on you including the Front Office Manager who was incapale of safely taking your initial phone call and called you back when he was able to.

I apologise that your expectations were not met on this occasion but thank you for your feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have just stayed at this property for 3 nights with 7 friends. The apartments were fantastic, well located, with lovely outlooks, clean and well maintained. Our check-in and out was very quick and no request was too difficult. Can highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I am very pleased to read your comments and that you found your stay to be faultless. We pride ourselves on providing clean and well maintained apartments for all guests to enjoy and of course all with a smile from our helpful team. See you soon and hope the weather was OK for you!

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent Christmas at the Oaks. Our one bedroom apartments was quite spacious and newish furniture and fittings made it very comfortable. The location is excellent for Parliament station and the College of Surgeons. There's a handy supermarket and bottle shop just a couple of doors away for basic supplies. It's not far to anything in the city. After two visits, it is becoming a favourite. Lacks full hotel facilities like restaurants or lounges, but a good choice if you want more than a hotel room and prefer to prepare your own food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We appreciate your positive comments regarding your experience over Christmas when you stayed here at Oaks on Lonsdale. Our location seemingly is quite popular with all the guests that venture our way. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to your 'favourite' in the near future.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penshurst, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Just had a great 6 days in a one bedroom apartment, it is certainly worth the extra money. Room service was excellent and staff helpful. The only criticism I had was that there was no washing machine in the apartment. I enquired about this on Thursday and was told a report would be made to maintenance. Again on Friday we asked at reception an explanation was given that she would contact maintenance and have a spare machine put in the room. We checked out today (Sunday) still no sign of washing machine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments though a little disappointed to hear that the washing machine was not installed into your apartment as promised. I shall investigate as to why this did not happen and ensure that no reoccurence happens in the future. My sincerest apologies on behalf of the team here at Oaks on Lonsdale

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment in January 2014. The staff were lovely and very accommodating, the room was magnificent and well worth the $$ paid. Compared to other hotels I have stayed at in the CBD oaks on lonsdale was by far the best.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebekahA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks for your comments and happy to hear you found all aspects of your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale pleasurable and to your satisfaction.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
205 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Apartments are large and spacious, all cooking utensils supplied also had a dishwasher which was good. Only criticism would be the iPod station didnt work and the staff couldn't fix it and there were no chairs on the balcony, would have been nice to sit out on it.
Would stay again as reception staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelstar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for the feedback you have provided concerning your stay with us. Should you have not already advised a staff member during your stay regarding the absent balcony chairs then it would be greatly appreciated if you could call the property to advise the apartment number where you were staying so we can rectify this immediately. I apologise for them not being there as they should have.

Thanks once again.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#30 of 156 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#49 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Chinatown
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#129 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#90 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Property: Oaks on Lonsdale
Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing