We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Can't wait to return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #61 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I have just stayed at this property for 3 nights with 7 friends. The apartments were fantastic, well located, with lovely outlooks, clean and well maintained. Our check-in and out was very quick and no request was too difficult. Can highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I am very pleased to read your comments and that you found your stay to be faultless. We pride ourselves on providing clean and well maintained apartments for all guests to enjoy and of course all with a smile from our helpful team. See you soon and hope the weather was OK for you!

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    374
    102
    40
    26
See reviews for
156
295
45
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent Christmas at the Oaks. Our one bedroom apartments was quite spacious and newish furniture and fittings made it very comfortable. The location is excellent for Parliament station and the College of Surgeons. There's a handy supermarket and bottle shop just a couple of doors away for basic supplies. It's not far to anything in the city. After two visits, it is becoming a favourite. Lacks full hotel facilities like restaurants or lounges, but a good choice if you want more than a hotel room and prefer to prepare your own food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
We appreciate your positive comments regarding your experience over Christmas when you stayed here at Oaks on Lonsdale. Our location seemingly is quite popular with all the guests that venture our way. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to your 'favourite' in the near future.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penshurst, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Just had a great 6 days in a one bedroom apartment, it is certainly worth the extra money. Room service was excellent and staff helpful. The only criticism I had was that there was no washing machine in the apartment. I enquired about this on Thursday and was told a report would be made to maintenance. Again on Friday we asked at reception an explanation was given that she would contact maintenance and have a spare machine put in the room. We checked out today (Sunday) still no sign of washing machine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments though a little disappointed to hear that the washing machine was not installed into your apartment as promised. I shall investigate as to why this did not happen and ensure that no reoccurence happens in the future. My sincerest apologies on behalf of the team here at Oaks on Lonsdale

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment in January 2014. The staff were lovely and very accommodating, the room was magnificent and well worth the $$ paid. Compared to other hotels I have stayed at in the CBD oaks on lonsdale was by far the best.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebekahA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks for your comments and happy to hear you found all aspects of your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale pleasurable and to your satisfaction.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
219 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Apartments are large and spacious, all cooking utensils supplied also had a dishwasher which was good. Only criticism would be the iPod station didnt work and the staff couldn't fix it and there were no chairs on the balcony, would have been nice to sit out on it.
Would stay again as reception staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelstar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for the feedback you have provided concerning your stay with us. Should you have not already advised a staff member during your stay regarding the absent balcony chairs then it would be greatly appreciated if you could call the property to advise the apartment number where you were staying so we can rectify this immediately. I apologise for them not being there as they should have.

Thanks once again.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I booked a studio with twin beds online with 'wotif' and got a good rate. When my daughter and I arrived they offered us an upgrade to a one bedroom apartment for $30 per night. We decided to take up their offer and were surprised with a very spacious comfortable apartment with all the mod cons we could every need for our 7 night stay. The beds, chairs and lounge were all very comfortable. It is not smack in the centre of town but the No.96 tram runs very nearby that goes straight through the centre of town (Bourke St Mall) and down to St Kilda. There is also a train station at the end of the street with the Circle Route. The view from our room was stunning. The apartment had a washer combined dryer. The dryer was not effective and the staff happily provided me with a clothes rack to dry wet items. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall, a nice quiet, pleasant stay in Lonsdale Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Very glad to hear your week long visit to Oaks on Lonsdale and Melbourne was enjoyable and you took advantage of the spaciousness that the 1 bedroom apartment offers compared to the studio.

Have a wonderful new year and see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in a sky high room. The room was beautiful, the view was stunning, it was quiet and the air con worked quickly, so it was quick to get the room pleasant and comfortable. Bed was comfy and full size fridge and cooking facilities were great. Only 5 mins walk to the city circle tram, or we walked to most parts of the CBD within 30 mins, including down to south bank, and we also wandered down to the docklands (a slightly longer walk, but not too bad).

So all up, you could argue that it doesn't ooze 5 star class or snobbishness, but the staff were all really friendly and there was nothing for which we were left wanting, so for the price you pay, I'd wholeheartedly recommend it!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crstdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
It sounds like you enjoyed your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale in one of the Sky High apartments on level 29 and we thank you for taking the time to provide the above feedback. Have a wonderful New year and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the property in 2014.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#42 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Chinatown
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#124 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Property: Oaks on Lonsdale
Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing