We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal spot, convenient and comfortable”
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #76 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent Christmas at the Oaks. Our one bedroom apartments was quite spacious and newish furniture and fittings made it very comfortable. The location is excellent for Parliament station and the College of Surgeons. There's a handy supermarket and bottle shop just a couple of doors away for basic supplies. It's not far to anything in the city. After two visits, it is becoming a favourite. Lacks full hotel facilities like restaurants or lounges, but a good choice if you want more than a hotel room and prefer to prepare your own food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

We appreciate your positive comments regarding your experience over Christmas when you stayed here at Oaks on Lonsdale. Our location seemingly is quite popular with all the guests that venture our way. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to your 'favourite' in the near future.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 930 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

Just had a great 6 days in a one bedroom apartment, it is certainly worth the extra money. Room service was excellent and staff helpful. The only criticism I had was that there was no washing machine in the apartment. I enquired about this on Thursday and was told a report would be made to maintenance. Again on Friday we asked at reception an explanation was given that she would contact maintenance and have a spare machine put in the room. We checked out today (Sunday) still no sign of washing machine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments though a little disappointed to hear that the washing machine was not installed into your apartment as promised. I shall investigate as to why this did not happen and ensure that no reoccurence happens in the future. My sincerest apologies on behalf of the team here at Oaks on Lonsdale

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment in January 2014. The staff were lovely and very accommodating, the room was magnificent and well worth the $$ paid. Compared to other hotels I have stayed at in the CBD oaks on lonsdale was by far the best.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebekahA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thanks for your comments and happy to hear you found all aspects of your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale pleasurable and to your satisfaction.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Apartments are large and spacious, all cooking utensils supplied also had a dishwasher which was good. Only criticism would be the iPod station didnt work and the staff couldn't fix it and there were no chairs on the balcony, would have been nice to sit out on it.
Would stay again as reception staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Travelstar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks for the feedback you have provided concerning your stay with us. Should you have not already advised a staff member during your stay regarding the absent balcony chairs then it would be greatly appreciated if you could call the property to advise the apartment number where you were staying so we can rectify this immediately. I apologise for them not being there as they should have.

Thanks once again.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I booked a studio with twin beds online with 'wotif' and got a good rate. When my daughter and I arrived they offered us an upgrade to a one bedroom apartment for $30 per night. We decided to take up their offer and were surprised with a very spacious comfortable apartment with all the mod cons we could every need for our 7 night stay. The beds, chairs and lounge were all very comfortable. It is not smack in the centre of town but the No.96 tram runs very nearby that goes straight through the centre of town (Bourke St Mall) and down to St Kilda. There is also a train station at the end of the street with the Circle Route. The view from our room was stunning. The apartment had a washer combined dryer. The dryer was not effective and the staff happily provided me with a clothes rack to dry wet items. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall, a nice quiet, pleasant stay in Lonsdale Street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Very glad to hear your week long visit to Oaks on Lonsdale and Melbourne was enjoyable and you took advantage of the spaciousness that the 1 bedroom apartment offers compared to the studio.

Have a wonderful new year and see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in a sky high room. The room was beautiful, the view was stunning, it was quiet and the air con worked quickly, so it was quick to get the room pleasant and comfortable. Bed was comfy and full size fridge and cooking facilities were great. Only 5 mins walk to the city circle tram, or we walked to most parts of the CBD within 30 mins, including down to south bank, and we also wandered down to the docklands (a slightly longer walk, but not too bad).

So all up, you could argue that it doesn't ooze 5 star class or snobbishness, but the staff were all really friendly and there was nothing for which we were left wanting, so for the price you pay, I'd wholeheartedly recommend it!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank crstdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

It sounds like you enjoyed your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale in one of the Sky High apartments on level 29 and we thank you for taking the time to provide the above feedback. Have a wonderful New year and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the property in 2014.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very helpfull staff and modern, tidy rooms. also really good location to resyaurants and tourist sights. However no locks on bathroom doors was strange and I could not see the reason for it. Also only place we stayed in Oz that we had to pay to use the wifi and at $5 for 30 mins it's not cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiwireview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback for your stay with us in December.

I am a little surpised to hear that there was no lock on the door of the bathroom in your apartment and if you did not mention this to staff during your stay, I would really appreciate a quick call or email so we can remedy immediately as all bathrooms should have locking mechanisms.

Each guest does have access to 30 mintues complimentary Wi-Fi access for each day of their stay but there are charges thereafter as you stated. We appreciate your thoughts and have taken them on board.

We trust you had a great New Year and hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#48 of 161 in Melbourne
1,508 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,821 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#127 of 161 in Melbourne
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,318 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#83 of 161 in Melbourne
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $115 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing