We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Near perfect for intergeneration holiday.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #58 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Near perfect for intergeneration holiday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Oaks at lonsdale was perfect for our needs. The grandparents stayed at the bigger room as they were paying and the daughter and 5 month old stayed at the smaller room. We had everything we needed except we had to ask for hangers and a bath plug which they supplied quickly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Pleased to hear that your stay with us at Oaks on Lonsdale was 'near perfect' and that your requests were promptly honoured. See you again soon and I trust your family had a great time in Melbourne.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    367
    98
    39
    26
See reviews for
152
290
44
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Good size for one bed apartment, quiet rooms despite being near lift. Staff efficient as was check in. Only fault would be some more information in the apartment re their facilities and TV. Otherwise recommend. Left my iPad and forwarded quickly thanks!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us and happy to hear of the sucessful receipt of your iPad that we mailed to you!

Regards, Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Clean three bedroom apartment, staff very helpful and courteous but one bedroom had no window and no t.v. the other two bedrooms faced onto Lonsdale Street and although we were on 26th floor the noise from the street was incredible neither of us in those rooms slept much either night. The apartment was lovely and with an IGA so close by and a fantastic cafe right next door which served a great breakfast it was a good location, but the noise spoiled our weekend away.

Room Tip: One that does not face Lonsdale street would be best as although the third bedroom had no window my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Very glad to hear that your found our service and location to your liking. Though disappointing to read that the street noise was an issue as this is not generally something we receive negative feedback about. We strive to maintain a relaxing and peaceful environment for all guests to get a good, restful nights sleep and I apologise you did not have this when staying with us on this occaision.

Many thanks for your feedback and I hope you choose us again.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good value, good location, good service, I was happy with this hotel and found it easy to get to and from there, and front desk was very helpful. You may want to try the Market St property as it's a little closer to things, but there's definitely a lot going for this hotel as well.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Robbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments regarding your stay here at Oaks on Lonsdale. Oaks' Market Street property is also a great location, along with Collins Street. We also have a new property recently opened in William Street so no matter where you need to be situated throughout Melbourne CBD, there is always an Oaks Hotels & Resorts property that will be conveniently located.

See you again soon and thanks once again.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our welcome from the moment we arrived was amazing. The staff we met during our week stay were so helpful and concerned for our comfort that nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We had booked a I bed apt and were, gratefully, given an upgrade. The apt was very tidy, with everything we could wish for during our short stay. Central location ( important with diminished mobility)and all transport ,retail, and entertainment within easy walking distance. Would certainly stay again. Many thanks to front staff Perry, Aida and Vishnu for the experience.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing N/NE for view and quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaurandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
So pleased to hear of your great stay with us and for your terrific rating. I shall certainly pass on your positive comments regarding the hospitality shown by our affable front desk team.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I arrived in the studio I booked to discover it was smaller than I expected, with no desk or table and no chairs, so the only place to sit was on the bed. Personally, I can't see the point of having a kitchenette, if there's not even a tiny table to eat at or a chair to sit on. I had asked for a quiet location, but could hear the conversation next door clearly through a locked door to the adjoining apartment. I contacted reception and was relocated to a one bedroom apartment for $30 extra a night. It was well worth the upgrade.
My apartment was very comfortable and quiet. The hotel is really close to public transport, with Parliament station just a minute or two away and it's just a short walk to the shopping mall.There's an IGA supermarket and bottle shop right next door. Couldn't be more convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view Don't book a studio if you want to eat in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for your feedback which I am sure prospective future guest of Oaks Lonsdale will find beneficial. Our studios are advertised as being compact and the slightly higher rates for the 1 Bedroom apartment are well worth it should you be looking for that extra space. Not only do you get the seperate bedroom to the living area but you also will get a full kitchen, balcony and at least double the floor space. I am gald we had the availability to provide the option of upgrading you on the day so that you were comfortable and trust we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Oaks on Lonsdale is more of a service appartment than a hotel, making it a great option for business travellers who prefer a no-frills space at a a really, really good location - walking distance from most offices, resturants, theatres, cafes and a tram station. Every room comes with a balcony with a great view, making it a great place to put up your feet and work or unwind in the evening with a drink or two.
There's a lot of space - the living room is big enough for a bunch of people to hang out and the kitchen and dining space is clean and well maintained by regular housekeeping. A special mention to the housekeeping staff - all of them friendly, courteous and efficient.
The bathroom comes with a washing machine and the kitchen's got everything you need to make quick meals for days you don't want to eat out. There's a small supermarket just next door for groceries and plenty of big ones down Lonsdale street.
The bed's comfy - I slept well all three times I stayed at Oaks and the service is great - the reception's open 24/7 so no worries if you're checking in or out at an unearthly hour.
For those who're looking for luxury, this isn't the place - Melbourne has plenty of five star hotels that'll do you better. But if you're a long-term business traveller, looking for comfort and a home away from home, look no further!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor for the fabulous balcony views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveljunkie_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We really appreciate your honest feedback to illustrate to potential guests the varying aspects of what Oaks on Lonsdale has to offer the business traveller. I will certainly relay your comments regarding the housekeeping staff to the team and hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#28 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#46 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#35 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
Chinatown
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#133 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Property: Oaks on Lonsdale
Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing