We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oaks on Lonsdale
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$89
$87
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$269
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$188
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$255
$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$206
$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$108
$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveler rating
348
466
144
55
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
466
144
55
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom apartmentparliament stationgreat locationgreek precinctiga supermarketparliament housewasher dryerfull kitchenprincess theatrespring stwell equipped kitchensmall balconyself cateringking sizecity viewgood sizeper night
Filter
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Clean three bedroom apartment, staff very helpful and courteous but one bedroom had no window and no t.v. the other two bedrooms faced onto Lonsdale Street and although we were on 26th floor the noise from the street was incredible neither of us in those rooms slept much either night. The apartment was lovely and with an IGA so close by and a fantastic cafe right next door which served a great breakfast it was a good location, but the noise spoiled our weekend away.

Room Tip: One that does not face Lonsdale street would be best as although the third bedroom had no window my daughter in there slept great.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Very glad to hear that your found our service and location to your liking. Though disappointing to read that the street noise was an issue as this is not generally something we receive negative feedback about. We strive to maintain a relaxing and peaceful environment for all guests to get a good, restful nights sleep and I apologise you did not have this when staying with us on this occaision.

Many thanks for your feedback and I hope you choose us again.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good value, good location, good service, I was happy with this hotel and found it easy to get to and from there, and front desk was very helpful. You may want to try the Market St property as it's a little closer to things, but there's definitely a lot going for this hotel as well.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Robbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thanks for your positive comments regarding your stay here at Oaks on Lonsdale. Oaks' Market Street property is also a great location, along with Collins Street. We also have a new property recently opened in William Street so no matter where you need to be situated throughout Melbourne CBD, there is always an Oaks Hotels & Resorts property that will be conveniently located.

See you again soon and thanks once again.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our welcome from the moment we arrived was amazing. The staff we met during our week stay were so helpful and concerned for our comfort that nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We had booked a I bed apt and were, gratefully, given an upgrade. The apt was very tidy, with everything we could wish for during our short stay. Central location ( important with diminished mobility)and all transport ,retail, and entertainment within easy walking distance. Would certainly stay again. Many thanks to front staff Perry, Aida and Vishnu for the experience.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing N/NE for view and quietness
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaurandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

So pleased to hear of your great stay with us and for your terrific rating. I shall certainly pass on your positive comments regarding the hospitality shown by our affable front desk team.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I arrived in the studio I booked to discover it was smaller than I expected, with no desk or table and no chairs, so the only place to sit was on the bed. Personally, I can't see the point of having a kitchenette, if there's not even a tiny table to eat at or a chair to sit on. I had asked for a quiet location, but could hear the conversation next door clearly through a locked door to the adjoining apartment. I contacted reception and was relocated to a one bedroom apartment for $30 extra a night. It was well worth the upgrade.
My apartment was very comfortable and quiet. The hotel is really close to public transport, with Parliament station just a minute or two away and it's just a short walk to the shopping mall.There's an IGA supermarket and bottle shop right next door. Couldn't be more convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view Don't book a studio if you want to eat in
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thanks for your feedback which I am sure prospective future guest of Oaks Lonsdale will find beneficial. Our studios are advertised as being compact and the slightly higher rates for the 1 Bedroom apartment are well worth it should you be looking for that extra space. Not only do you get the seperate bedroom to the living area but you also will get a full kitchen, balcony and at least double the floor space. I am gald we had the availability to provide the option of upgrading you on the day so that you were comfortable and trust we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Oaks on Lonsdale is more of a service appartment than a hotel, making it a great option for business travellers who prefer a no-frills space at a a really, really good location - walking distance from most offices, resturants, theatres, cafes and a tram station. Every room comes with a balcony with a great view, making it a great place to put up your feet and work or unwind in the evening with a drink or two.
There's a lot of space - the living room is big enough for a bunch of people to hang out and the kitchen and dining space is clean and well maintained by regular housekeeping. A special mention to the housekeeping staff - all of them friendly, courteous and efficient.
The bathroom comes with a washing machine and the kitchen's got everything you need to make quick meals for days you don't want to eat out. There's a small supermarket just next door for groceries and plenty of big ones down Lonsdale street.
The bed's comfy - I slept well all three times I stayed at Oaks and the service is great - the reception's open 24/7 so no worries if you're checking in or out at an unearthly hour.
For those who're looking for luxury, this isn't the place - Melbourne has plenty of five star hotels that'll do you better. But if you're a long-term business traveller, looking for comfort and a home away from home, look no further!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor for the fabulous balcony views!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveljunkie_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We really appreciate your honest feedback to illustrate to potential guests the varying aspects of what Oaks on Lonsdale has to offer the business traveller. I will certainly relay your comments regarding the housekeeping staff to the team and hope to see you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews