We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not accept a room beside lift or staircase!!”
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #77 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked a two bedroom. Main problem was the loud noise coming from the lift ALL night and the strange rattling/scratching noise from the bedroom wall beside the staircase. Possibly from ths wind and fire hose in the staircase. My toddler was scared and refused to sleep until past midnight. Made a complaint at 3 am, but desk guy said he would look in to it but no changes!
Walls were unclean with food and stains found. Our rooms were not serviced or cleaned and we had rubbish collecting over the 3 days we were there.
Overall rooms were ok and happy with the size and balcony but will not stay here again. I was not happy with being placed beside the lifts and stairway and not worth the $ I paid for 3 sleepless nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aish2195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us here at Oaks On Lonsdale recently.

I am certainly disappointed to hear of your experince during the very turbulent windy weather we had in Melbourne when you were here as when these extreme conditions do arise, the wind can sometime swirl around the building causing some noise. I am sorry to hear of your interuppted sleep as we pride ourselves on providing comfortable and peaceful accommodation.

I apologise for you not receiving our normal housekeeping servicing and I would like to follow up on this more thoroughly. If you could be so kind as to make contact with me directly to do so I would really appreciate this. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
There are newer reviews for Oaks on Lonsdale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 896 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Helped by fantastic female staff member. Stayed for two nights for both business and relaxation ( 2 nights away from our own busy motel). Joined up as a member on Internet and saved a few dollars. Parking on site, very clean modern room, great beds and pillows. The sky high rooms have great city views. Thank You Oaks had a great couple of days off.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank normiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy some time off from running your own motel and enjoy all we have to offer. See you again soon.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at Oaks as have not been there before and also needed somewhere with a car park . Good location, only a few blocks to Melbourne central or QV if you want supplies at Coles or Woolies. Free circle tram stop is only a few minutes walk away over Spring St, otherwise only about 20-25 min walk to Fed square. Have stayed in quite a few apartments and hotels and this one had one of the best (king!) beds I have slept in. Had a 2 bedroom apartment on floor 24 with great views towards MCG. It is also close to eating places. Greek precinct, china town, and further down we at Pomodoro and also Mrs Parmas just in lane behind us. Car park is tight , we have a Honda CRV and managed OK but wouldn't want to have anything higher or longer to manouvre.

Room Tip: If staying in apartment try and get floors 20 and above if want to get views
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

The close proximity to a plethora of restaurants and shopping districts is one of many reason guests keep coming back to stay with us at Oaks on Lonsdale. Very happy to hear of your enoyed recent stay and sounds like you noticed our comfortable beds sourced specifially to ensure guests have a restful nights sleep. Many thanks for your feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2nights as part of my Lions rugby tour. Normally I stay in the Southbank area of Melbourne but enjoyed my stay here at the Oaks. Was in a studio bedroom on a high floor - it was spacious with everything and more that I needed for my short stay. The Oaks is in a good location and Melbourne is an easy walkable city. Great to have onsite secure parking for my stay at only $20 it was reasonable pricing for the city centre location. Plenty of places to eat and drink in the area on Exhibition Street. Good value accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pen10poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Oaks on Lonsdale when visiting Melbourne during the British & Irish Lions tour like so many others and hope to see you again in 12 years time.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Recently stayed for a few nights during the week found the Location very handy even a bus stop at the front and walking distance to most cbd attractions. Pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a one bedroom suite, great views, clean room and a comfortable bed. Look forward to our next visit there. We used advice from tripadvisor members and asked for a high floor great advice thanks.

Room Tip: request high floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samsonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We are glad to hear you were fortunate enough to receive a comlimentary upgrade and enjoyed the views and bed comfort during your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect Location !!
Spotless Rooms ( compliments to housekeeping staff) Comfortable beds , well equipped kitchen in the apartment and the as for the In - Room Dining... it is to die for !! Hot , Fresh and Delicious cant recommend highly enough. The reception staff were so friendly and nothing was to much trouble, even the maintenance man I came across in the lift was friendly. The business service area is great and well my stay was faultless. Highly regarded hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyzafletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

I am pleased to hear that you found the cleanliness and room facilities to your liking during your recent stay. We pride our service standards and glad you found all our staff friendly and helpful throughout you stay.

Regards, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked this accommodation via Trailfinders and it may have been due to this that we were given a one bedroom apartment upgrade from the studio apartment we had booked.
The hotel itself is in a good location near to the Exhibition Centre and Museum.
The trams are also at the top of Lonsdale Street which is only a short walk away. The free circle route trams are an excellent way of getting round the main parts of the city. There is also a great tourist bus (hop on/off type) which takes 90 minutes for the complete circle.
It was disappointing that it was an additional cost for wifi at the hotel.
There are a number of nice cafes and small restaurants nearby but they do all seem to close early as they appear to cater mainly for the local businesses and offices within their immediate vicinity ie breakfasts, lunches

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you greatly for your feedback on your stay with us here. I am glad you were able to enjoy the spaciousness afforded with your complimentary upgrade from the more compact studio apartment to the one bedroom as this is rarely possible due to demand. It seems like so many guests before you, the ideal location of Oaks on Lonsdale has struck a chord.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#46 of 160 in Melbourne
1,436 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
1,762 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#128 of 160 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#82 of 160 in Melbourne
2,257 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,101 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $103 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing