We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oaks on Lonsdale
Nearby Hotels
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$110
$86
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$177
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$271
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melbourne Marriott Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$152
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$181
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Langham, Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$257
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$186
$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$129
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveler rating
348
468
144
55
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
468
144
55
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom apartmentparliament stationgreat locationgreek precinctiga supermarketparliament housewasher dryerfull kitchenprincess theatrespring stwell equipped kitchensmall balconyself cateringking sizecity viewgood sizeper night
Filter
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked this accommodation via Trailfinders and it may have been due to this that we were given a one bedroom apartment upgrade from the studio apartment we had booked.
The hotel itself is in a good location near to the Exhibition Centre and Museum.
The trams are also at the top of Lonsdale Street which is only a short walk away. The free circle route trams are an excellent way of getting round the main parts of the city. There is also a great tourist bus (hop on/off type) which takes 90 minutes for the complete circle.
It was disappointing that it was an additional cost for wifi at the hotel.
There are a number of nice cafes and small restaurants nearby but they do all seem to close early as they appear to cater mainly for the local businesses and offices within their immediate vicinity ie breakfasts, lunches

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you greatly for your feedback on your stay with us here. I am glad you were able to enjoy the spaciousness afforded with your complimentary upgrade from the more compact studio apartment to the one bedroom as this is rarely possible due to demand. It seems like so many guests before you, the ideal location of Oaks on Lonsdale has struck a chord.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here while in Melbourne. It is very central and convenient in many ways. It has an IGA very close, cafes for Breakfast over the road and I chose it because the show we wanted to see was at the Princess Theatre which is literally around the corner. It was lovely and clean and spacious and had a great view of the city from our apartment. The staff were very helpful and booked cabs for us when we inquired about them. The best thing was it was very central and after a day of shopping was lovely to come back to somewhere where it was clean and tidy and we could easily relax.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerriH246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

I hope you thoroughly enjoyed the show at Pricess Theatre and glad you found us convenient to everything you required during your stay in Melbourne CBD. Equally pleased you found our friendly front desk team helpful throughout your stay to ensure your needs were accommodated in their usual friendly manner. See you again soon when KIng Kong opens at the Regent Theatre, just a short walk away in Collins Street!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A very nice and decent 1 bedroom apartment.
Nice and big kitchen with smeg cookware.
Cleaner came everyday, however when we were in the room, they just gave you the towels and left. When we required to do the room service an hour later (still before noon time), it just didn't happen.
The apartment has a balcony,it will be very convenient for these smokers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reinn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We very much appreciate your review of Oaks Lonsdale relating to your recent stay with us. We thank you for the feedback with particular reference to the shortcomings of the housekeeping service during the stay. These comments have been passed onto the persons responsible for following up to allow retraining of the staff concerned to ensure that this miscommunication is not repeated.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here in a one bedroom apartment. The bathroom was big, plenty of space, the kitchen was a good size too. I had a lovey view of the city from my room there's an IGA supermarket next door which is extremely convenient, otherwise about 3 blocks away is a Woolworths and Coles in bigger shopping complexes. China town is also a short walk, with dining options endless in this area.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliArchAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us in November and fantastic to hear that your found our apartments spacious and well appointed. Equally pleasing to hear your positive comments about our location.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The 1 bedroom apartment was very spacious and contained everything we required for our 2 night stay. The hotel is close to The Princess theatre where we went to see Legally Blonde. You can easily walk to the Bourke Street Mall and most of the CDB restaurants and cafes. Chinatown is on the doorstep plus some Greek restaurants close by. It is close to Parliament Station and the Bourke Street trams are 100 metres away. The standard of facilities are modern and adequate and the staff helpful. There is on site parking for $20 per day. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a room away from Lonsdale Street if on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Oaks Lonsdale and you found our location ideal for Chinatown and experiencing Legally Blonde around the corner at Princess Theatre. We are hearing great reviews for this show which will be running till the end of July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews