We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good location, bizarre appartment”
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #75 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The appartment I had (204a from memory) is clearly the result of cutting a larger appartment in half. In my half there was a pretty decent studio kitchen, and a large double bed. That's it - no table, chair or any other furniture (apart from a falling apart ikea - or worse - small wardrobe).

Sleeping can be hard with the kitchen refrigerator 1 metre away at night.

Can't complain about the bed, sleep quality, or location, but I would not go here again.

Room Tip: There may be some larger (i.e. normal) rooms available; look carefully at the room spec on the web i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolandscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thanks for your honest critique of our Studio apartments. The 1 bedroom apartments are always a lot more spacious with a living and kitchen area seperate from the bedroom. Additionally, thay are generally only marginally more expensive.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 980 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel has a Very good standard of cleanliness and I really liked the room. The staff were excellent, they were friendly and helpful. I really liked the location as it was close to a train station. Room Service food delivery was great. Will stay here again. Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Great to hear of your experience with us here at Oaks Lonsdale and we will see you again soon. Our staff are always striving to make our valued guests feel at home.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely four nights on the 24th floor. The room was impeccably clean,it was quiet and the bed was like my bed at home..comfortable.Kitchenette was handy to make some breakfast. It was in a great location to catch the train to all locations in Melbourne and an easy walk to shopping areas and restaurants. We would definitely visit again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again soon at Oaks Lonsdale or any of our other properties around Australia and New Zealand.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

i took my husband away for the weekend for his birthday
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, staff were fantastic.
we had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 29 th floor, views were fantastic,
apatrment was excellent..only one thing we would have liked bathrobes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jeanette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Jeanette and Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am delighted to read that we were able to help make your husbands birthday celebration a delight.

Our Sky High apartments are located on the 29th floor (top floor) with a magnificent view of the CBD which I am glad to hear you also enjoyed.

I appreciate your feedback regarding bath robes and although we do not currently provide these in our apartments it is something we will certainly consider in the very near future.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My fiance and I stayed for two nights in a Studio room on the 24th floor.

Good Points:

- Handy location. You can't really go wrong in the Melbourne CBD. We chose to walk everywhere we needed to go - MCG 15 minutes, Bourke St mall 5-10 minutes, Melbourne Central shops 5 minutes, Etihad Stadium 25 minutes. There are also buses and taxis straight outside, and trams/trains only a few minutes walk

- Friendly and efficient check-in/checkout

- Comfortable, soft king bed

- Plenty of hot water in the shower, and good water pressure

- Good sturdy shower screen! Keeps all the water in the shower, not spilling out onto the bathroom floor

- Plenty of storage space in the bathroom for toiletries

- Foxtel

- Room service menu looked delicious! (Although we didn't actually indulge in any)

- No problems with noise

- Nice clean bed linen


Bad Points:

- Only two lifts, so you generally had to wait a while (not long though - never more than five minutes)

- No storage space in the room for luggage other than one small, fold-out luggage rack (and a wardrobe). Would have been handy to have a desk, lounge chair or something

- Found a few hairs on the towels

- Some mould in the bathroom, however only minor

- There was no bin in the room itself - just one tiny bin in the bathroom. Same with mirrors. (It's handy to have a bin and mirror out in the room, so that you've got access to them while the other person is using the bathroom)

- The hotel is a little tardy in removing the $150 charge from my credit card - three business days later and it's still sitting there


Overall this was an enjoyable stay. As you can see from the "bad" points listed (which are all pretty minor), we didn't have any major problems. Not 5-star luxury, but good, clean, comfortable and safe accommodation. We would be happy to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyTheNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to detail both your positive and negative feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Oaks Lonsdale. I am pleased to see you found your stay to be predominantly enjoyable and the facilites comfortable.

There are certainly some items to tend to that you have raised and it seems as though you stayed in one of our more compact studios. For a minimal more per night spent, a 1 Bedroom apartment will provide you with over 50% more floor space along with a desk. Please keep this in mind when next booking with us.

I have taken note of the housekeeping issues and I thank you for making us aware for action.

With regards to the credit card preauthorisation, this is an automated process between our merchant bank and your card issuer which can take up to 5 business days and if it has not happened to date then please contact us urgently so that we may assist you further.

I hope we have the pleaseure of welcoming you back to the property in the near furture and thank you for your comments.

Regards, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed overnight and the staff were extremely friendly and obliging and even flagged down a taxi for me after my booked one failed to arrive, the apartment was large in comparison to many others we have stayed, was fresh and spotless, we will definitely be choosing this as our place to go when next in Melbourne,

Barbara Gapper

Room Tip: High floor facing Lonsdale are great and you get an awesome view, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us.

I am most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our apartments to be fresh and spotless.

It is always a pleasure to here that our staff have done all that is necessary to ensure your stay with us has been most comfortable and enjoyable.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale on your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in 1 bedroom apt with nice view of the park. Highly recommended for families. There was a well equipped kitchen, dining area and lounge, and even a washing machine. Good location, walking distance to city centre, chinatown and tram stop. Clean and tidy place with new furniture.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eve16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Eve,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room to be clean and tidy. We have recently put in new couches and I am happy that it is to your liking.

Our 1 bedroom city view apartments provide fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities as well as a spacious living area.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#48 of 161 in Melbourne
1,575 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
1,902 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#80 of 161 in Melbourne
1,389 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#121 of 161 in Melbourne
1,388 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#47 of 161 in Melbourne
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $107 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing