We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable, good location, bizarre appartment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #59 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good location, bizarre appartment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The appartment I had (204a from memory) is clearly the result of cutting a larger appartment in half. In my half there was a pretty decent studio kitchen, and a large double bed. That's it - no table, chair or any other furniture (apart from a falling apart ikea - or worse - small wardrobe).

Sleeping can be hard with the kitchen refrigerator 1 metre away at night.

Can't complain about the bed, sleep quality, or location, but I would not go here again.

Room Tip: There may be some larger (i.e. normal) rooms available; look carefully at the room spec on the web i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolandscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for your honest critique of our Studio apartments. The 1 bedroom apartments are always a lot more spacious with a living and kitchen area seperate from the bedroom. Additionally, thay are generally only marginally more expensive.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    367
    98
    39
    26
See reviews for
153
290
44
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel has a Very good standard of cleanliness and I really liked the room. The staff were excellent, they were friendly and helpful. I really liked the location as it was close to a train station. Room Service food delivery was great. Will stay here again. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Great to hear of your experience with us here at Oaks Lonsdale and we will see you again soon. Our staff are always striving to make our valued guests feel at home.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely four nights on the 24th floor. The room was impeccably clean,it was quiet and the bed was like my bed at home..comfortable.Kitchenette was handy to make some breakfast. It was in a great location to catch the train to all locations in Melbourne and an easy walk to shopping areas and restaurants. We would definitely visit again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, General Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again soon at Oaks Lonsdale or any of our other properties around Australia and New Zealand.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

i took my husband away for the weekend for his birthday
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, staff were fantastic.
we had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 29 th floor, views were fantastic,
apatrment was excellent..only one thing we would have liked bathrobes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeanette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Jeanette and Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks on Lonsdale.

I am delighted to read that we were able to help make your husbands birthday celebration a delight.

Our Sky High apartments are located on the 29th floor (top floor) with a magnificent view of the CBD which I am glad to hear you also enjoyed.

I appreciate your feedback regarding bath robes and although we do not currently provide these in our apartments it is something we will certainly consider in the very near future.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My fiance and I stayed for two nights in a Studio room on the 24th floor.

Good Points:

- Handy location. You can't really go wrong in the Melbourne CBD. We chose to walk everywhere we needed to go - MCG 15 minutes, Bourke St mall 5-10 minutes, Melbourne Central shops 5 minutes, Etihad Stadium 25 minutes. There are also buses and taxis straight outside, and trams/trains only a few minutes walk

- Friendly and efficient check-in/checkout

- Comfortable, soft king bed

- Plenty of hot water in the shower, and good water pressure

- Good sturdy shower screen! Keeps all the water in the shower, not spilling out onto the bathroom floor

- Plenty of storage space in the bathroom for toiletries

- Foxtel

- Room service menu looked delicious! (Although we didn't actually indulge in any)

- No problems with noise

- Nice clean bed linen


Bad Points:

- Only two lifts, so you generally had to wait a while (not long though - never more than five minutes)

- No storage space in the room for luggage other than one small, fold-out luggage rack (and a wardrobe). Would have been handy to have a desk, lounge chair or something

- Found a few hairs on the towels

- Some mould in the bathroom, however only minor

- There was no bin in the room itself - just one tiny bin in the bathroom. Same with mirrors. (It's handy to have a bin and mirror out in the room, so that you've got access to them while the other person is using the bathroom)

- The hotel is a little tardy in removing the $150 charge from my credit card - three business days later and it's still sitting there


Overall this was an enjoyable stay. As you can see from the "bad" points listed (which are all pretty minor), we didn't have any major problems. Not 5-star luxury, but good, clean, comfortable and safe accommodation. We would be happy to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyTheNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail both your positive and negative feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Oaks Lonsdale. I am pleased to see you found your stay to be predominantly enjoyable and the facilites comfortable.

There are certainly some items to tend to that you have raised and it seems as though you stayed in one of our more compact studios. For a minimal more per night spent, a 1 Bedroom apartment will provide you with over 50% more floor space along with a desk. Please keep this in mind when next booking with us.

I have taken note of the housekeeping issues and I thank you for making us aware for action.

With regards to the credit card preauthorisation, this is an automated process between our merchant bank and your card issuer which can take up to 5 business days and if it has not happened to date then please contact us urgently so that we may assist you further.

I hope we have the pleaseure of welcoming you back to the property in the near furture and thank you for your comments.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed overnight and the staff were extremely friendly and obliging and even flagged down a taxi for me after my booked one failed to arrive, the apartment was large in comparison to many others we have stayed, was fresh and spotless, we will definitely be choosing this as our place to go when next in Melbourne,

Barbara Gapper

Room Tip: High floor facing Lonsdale are great and you get an awesome view, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us.

I am most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our apartments to be fresh and spotless.

It is always a pleasure to here that our staff have done all that is necessary to ensure your stay with us has been most comfortable and enjoyable.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks on Lonsdale on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in 1 bedroom apt with nice view of the park. Highly recommended for families. There was a well equipped kitchen, dining area and lounge, and even a washing machine. Good location, walking distance to city centre, chinatown and tram stop. Clean and tidy place with new furniture.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eve16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerLonsdale, Manager at Oaks on Lonsdale, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Eve,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room to be clean and tidy. We have recently put in new couches and I am happy that it is to your liking.

Our 1 bedroom city view apartments provide fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities as well as a spacious living area.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#28 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#46 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Chinatown
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#134 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Property: Oaks on Lonsdale
Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing