We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Good serviced apartment.”
Review of Oaks on Lonsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks on Lonsdale
Ranked #74 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Check-in was quick. They originally have us us a two bedroom/one bath apartment. I reminded them that we booked a two bath, they quickly made the change. The desk staff were extremely helpful throughout our stay.

The apartment was clean and exactly what was marketed. They should upgrade the living room furniture as there were stains on it. There was a washer/dryer unit in one instead of separate. It was difficult to use. Even the housekeeping guy didn't get it right. The front desk came through and allowed us to use an easier group of washer/dryers down in the parking area. Keep the appliances easy to use.

The location was great as we were near the free tram stop and somewhat near the free bus shuttle. We took these and walked a lot. Melbourne was an easy place to walk.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxmoxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 952 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2011

Be careful. This hotel is very beautiful nicely located. But the staff is very much unhelpful. Rude, impolite and not caring...this is what you will find there. Give us your money...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My partner and I arrived after staying two nights previously in a 4 1/2 star hotel we were disappointed in. I phoned ahead the previous night to reserve a car space and ask if we could check our car and baggage in around 11.30am. This wasnt a problem and the staff were very friendly. Our room was ready at 12noon for our one night stay. We had a 1 bedroom apartment at the back of the building giving us views of heritage buildings and trees from the lounge area and balcony seating. We were pleasantly suprised and excited to view our spacious apartment which had a very comfortable king bed, tv in lounge and bedroom, spacious bathroom and well equipped kitchen. Very happy with the whole experience and the helpful and friendly staff.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank accomfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We booked on a travelzoo offer of $139 per night for an upgraded one bed apartment and weren’t disappointed. The apartment was modern and spacious with excellent facilities. The bedroom was off the lounge with comfy beds, separate tv, built-in wardrobes and lots of storage space. We had a room at the back of the hotel which was lovely and quiet. The bathroom was huge with built in laundry facilities. Wi-fi is available for an additional charge ($10 for 2 hours) and overnight parking at the hotel is only $20 a night- fantastic value for Melbourne CBD! Chinatown and the CBD are right on the doorstep – and the rest of the city is easily accessible by walking bus or tram. A great stay – very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autumn1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

I booked a 3 bedroom apartment for a group of three couples in Melbourne for a sporting event.
When we arrived we were informed that the room consisted of a 2 bedroom apartment with a interconnecting door to a studio apartment. While this is OK from a sleeping arrangement the lounge/dinning/balcony area was not big enough to seat 6 adults. When we complained to the front desk we were told that they do not have 3 bedroom apartments. This is false advertising, when you are told its a 3 bedroom apartment it should be. There is better accommodation in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pparko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed at Oaks on Lonsdale for 2 nights. It was a spacious, modern 1 bedroom apartment. We usually stay in hotels so this was a lovely surprise. The apartment had floating floor boards, comfy bed, a tv in the lounge and bedroom a full kitchen and a balcony. It was a really hot weekend 40 degrees but the air conditioner coped well. The reception staff were a bit cold but it didn't really bother me as we didn't have much to do with them. The location was great and walking distance to most places or a short tram ride away. I would probably ask to stay on the street which doesn't face Lonsdale street next time and at a higher level. The traffic wasn't super noisy but it was a bit noticeable. All in all a great stay. There is also a convenience store only a couple of doors down.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nowandthentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Stayed for four nights in 1 bedroom apt at Oaks on Lonsdale. The apt is in a great location, near to the activity hub but yet quiet and peaceful at night.

We were in Melbourne for the Aust Open and were able to walk to and fro Rod Laver Arena (about 15 to 20min leisurely stroll). We also caught Mary Poppins at The Majestic Theatre along Exhibition St which is just around the corner from the apt.

The room was well-kept, and well-equipped. We loved the large, spacious and well-ventilated shower room and the washer-dryer. Daily housekeeping ensured that the wash cloth, detergent, etc were replenished and the room was in tip-top condition.

Highly recommended for medium to long stays in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#48 of 161 in Melbourne
1,530 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,848 reviews
Chinatown
City Limits Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#129 of 161 in Melbourne
448 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,344 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#84 of 161 in Melbourne
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Lonsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Lonsdale

Address: 23 -33 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $110 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Lonsdale 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Lonsdale is located in one of Melbourne’s most sought after locations and offers ultra modern hotel rooms and apartments. Oaks on Lonsdale provides comfortable, contemporary studios and spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all complete with fully equipped kitchens fitted with stainless steel appliances and reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks on Lonsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Lonsdale Melbourne
Oaks On Lonsdale Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing