We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apartments of South Yarra
Ranked #44 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Excellent value, everything clean and tidy, easy check in. Kitchen was good enough to cook a proper meal. Only minor niggle was the free wifi that that kept logging me out and was a pain to reconnect to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rover3litre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
46
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We recently stayed at the Apartments of South Yarra for the fifth time in as many years. The fact that we keep returning says a lot. We were there for 3 weeks this year and really appreciated the excellent service privided by all the staff we had contact with.
Since our last visit the rooms have been provided with new TVs, DVD and audio equipment.
In addtion free wifi was much appreciated.
It is not hard to see the effort and commitment that goes into maintaining the high standards which prevail. The location is really convenient and for anyone wanting central, clean and quiet accomodation this will take some beating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We travelled during the Australian Open 2013 Grand Final weekend and was quite impressed with the location and overall apartment. The apartment was spotless and the location was central to everything in Melbourne CBD.
Only 100 mtrs from the infamous Chapel Street, and less than $12 cab ride into the city won it for me.
Will definately recommend this complex to family and friends.
Only negative point - require curtains for the bedroom, as the blinds in the bedroom were too thin and the morning sun was too bright after a big night out.

Room Tip: Try to get the apartments at the back of the complex, you will hear less of the trams and trains com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junalaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at this property for 3 nights in Dec 2012. Check in was relatively easy at Claremont house although the staff there does not seem very friendly.Location for this apartment is great as you can walk to South Yarra station in 5 mins. We had a car and parked at the property with no charge (although the traffic seems to be terrible all the time around South Yarra area). Lots of restaurants around this area.

The apartment was clean enough. There is a sofa in the living room that can turned into a bed. Bed was comfortable and there are 2 TVs in the apartment. Cleaners need to pay more attention on the cleaniness of the bathroom and kitchen. As previous reader mentioned, the kitchen is grubby. The frying pan is supposed to be non stick but it's all scratched so you can hardly see the non stick material. The kettle still have water in it and the inside was all rusty. Air conditioner was a bit old but does the job. We ran out of shampoo and conditioner on our 3rd day and rang the reception and they kindly provide more . They are also happy to replace towels if needed. There is a self service laundry downstairs but a bit costly ($3 for the washing machine and $3 for the dryer).

A few things to note:
- the apartments are very close to the train tracks so be prepared to hear the trains at night time. I bought some ear plugs because of this
- the apartments were quiet for 2/3 nights we stayed there. On the last nite (Thurs), sounds like some teenagers returned to their apartment at 3am in the morning and they were very noisy

Overall considering the price I paid ($135 per night) and the location of this apartments, I think this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasta0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Super convenient location right by the shops of Chapel St and Prahran but quiet inside the unit (apart from the old style rattly air conditioner which didn't work very well).

Check in was around the corner at the guesthouse - friendly, helpful and efficient.
Free wifi was good.
The unit had a small table, 2 lounge chairs, a desk. The bed was comfortable. There is a wall mounted TV in the bedroom which I hit my head on due to it being placed at head height. The bathroom was very clean and had complimentary toiletries.
I'd go back mainly because you the location and price were good, plus parking was included on site - a real bonus.
The kitchen and crockery was grubby (and I had to wash it before they were ok to use). The kitchen wash sponge had been used previously.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porcupinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The outside of these apartments look daggy , like a 70s block of flats. BUT inside is great very clean one bedroom apartment with new bathroom and kitchen, new appliances and 2 flat screen TVs . The last two reviewers must have stayed somewhere else. This pace is fine

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Boracaybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

After reading the reviews on Tripadvsor, I have to say I was really disappointed with Apartments of South Yarra. It's in an excellent location, but everything else about the apartment tells me it was made-over on the cheap, poorly maintained, and noisy (you've got front-row seats to clearly hearing the neighbours talk, shower, and pee!)
Here's my assessment:
Location: Excellent
Loungeroom: Basic furnishing including a most uncomfortable home-made couch. Dim fluoro lighting.
Bedroom: Clean sheets. Some lightbulbs not working. Mattress was hard and lumpy.
Bathroom: Filthy. Brown/black grime in bathroom tiles. Yellowish brown film on shower recess floor. EXTENSIVE BLACK MOLD ON WALLS & CEILINGS. Broken shelving. Clean towels.
Kitchen: Basic & workable, but many utensils, pcs of cutlery, and the bin were coated in oily film and speckled with sometimes large pcs of dried food residue.

OVERALL: I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, even if only for health reasons. I think there are comparable places to stay for similar prices. For us, the excellent location didn't outweigh the grimy interiors that resembled B-grade student accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JezOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#85 of 160 in Melbourne
336 reviews
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#57 of 160 in Melbourne
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darling Apartments South Yarra
#33 of 142 in Melbourne
63 reviews
Oaks South Yarra
#20 of 142 in Melbourne
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments of South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments of South Yarra

Property: Apartments of South Yarra
Address: 46 Arthur St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments of South Yarra 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments of South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing