We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apartments of South Yarra
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Claremont(Melbourne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Quest on Chapel(Melbourne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Toorak Manor(Toorak)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
42
48
5
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
48
5
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclaremont hoteltoorak roadchapel streetoff street parkinga ground floor apartmentjam factorykey pickupblock of flatsgreat locationshops and cafestrain stationshort walkpublic transportbed was comfortablefree breakfastgreat apartmenthandy location
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 101 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Super convenient location right by the shops of Chapel St and Prahran but quiet inside the unit (apart from the old style rattly air conditioner which didn't work very well).

Check in was around the corner at the guesthouse - friendly, helpful and efficient.
Free wifi was good.
The unit had a small table, 2 lounge chairs, a desk. The bed was comfortable. There is a wall mounted TV in the bedroom which I hit my head on due to it being placed at head height. The bathroom was very clean and had complimentary toiletries.
I'd go back mainly because you the location and price were good, plus parking was included on site - a real bonus.
The kitchen and crockery was grubby (and I had to wash it before they were ok to use). The kitchen wash sponge had been used previously.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 10
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porcupinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The outside of these apartments look daggy , like a 70s block of flats. BUT inside is great very clean one bedroom apartment with new bathroom and kitchen, new appliances and 2 flat screen TVs . The last two reviewers must have stayed somewhere else. This pace is fine

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Boracaybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

After reading the reviews on Tripadvsor, I have to say I was really disappointed with Apartments of South Yarra. It's in an excellent location, but everything else about the apartment tells me it was made-over on the cheap, poorly maintained, and noisy (you've got front-row seats to clearly hearing the neighbours talk, shower, and pee!)
Here's my assessment:
Location: Excellent
Loungeroom: Basic furnishing including a most uncomfortable home-made couch. Dim fluoro lighting.
Bedroom: Clean sheets. Some lightbulbs not working. Mattress was hard and lumpy.
Bathroom: Filthy. Brown/black grime in bathroom tiles. Yellowish brown film on shower recess floor. EXTENSIVE BLACK MOLD ON WALLS & CEILINGS. Broken shelving. Clean towels.
Kitchen: Basic & workable, but many utensils, pcs of cutlery, and the bin were coated in oily film and speckled with sometimes large pcs of dried food residue.

OVERALL: I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone, even if only for health reasons. I think there are comparable places to stay for similar prices. For us, the excellent location didn't outweigh the grimy interiors that resembled B-grade student accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JezOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My family and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment based on its positive reviews and great location. The location is the only thing going for this block of apartments. The bathroom had black mould, the cutlery in the drawers was oily, the bin was filthy, the vinyl couch
was peeling and the bed was lumpy. It was also extremely noisy. My overall impression of the apartment was that it was grubby and poorly maintained.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kalgoorliekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in apartment 12 upstairs, nice view of the city and right around the corner from chapel street, literally a 1 minute walk. Got in on a red eye flight and called to see if we were able to check in early and the night manager Eric was very accomodating, as we were staying 5 nights he didn't charge us any extra to check in a few hours early. Looks a little shabby on the outside however the rooms are fully renovated. Nice to be around the corner from an IGA where you can buy drinks and then store in your fridge. Nice waterfall pressure in the shower. Only a $15 taxi ride into the city or 15 minutes via train, easy to find once you have checked in at hotel claremont. Loved the coffee around the corner and easy access to neighbouring suburbs. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lims7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews