We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby and shabby apartment.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments of South Yarra
Ranked #44 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grubby and shabby apartment.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My family and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment based on its positive reviews and great location. The location is the only thing going for this block of apartments. The bathroom had black mould, the cutlery in the drawers was oily, the bin was filthy, the vinyl couch
was peeling and the bed was lumpy. It was also extremely noisy. My overall impression of the apartment was that it was grubby and poorly maintained.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalgoorliekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
46
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed in apartment 12 upstairs, nice view of the city and right around the corner from chapel street, literally a 1 minute walk. Got in on a red eye flight and called to see if we were able to check in early and the night manager Eric was very accomodating, as we were staying 5 nights he didn't charge us any extra to check in a few hours early. Looks a little shabby on the outside however the rooms are fully renovated. Nice to be around the corner from an IGA where you can buy drinks and then store in your fridge. Nice waterfall pressure in the shower. Only a $15 taxi ride into the city or 15 minutes via train, easy to find once you have checked in at hotel claremont. Loved the coffee around the corner and easy access to neighbouring suburbs. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lims7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stay'd here for 3 nights during a melbourne winter weekend.
I did need to ask for extra heating and they did bring a extra heater later that day.
It was perfect and not too tiny at all it was a real 1br appartment size wise.
A Fry pan and larger sauce pan would of been good for cooking but we did get by.
I would definitely stay here again and recomend this appartment to friends and travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed for a week in April and was very impressed with the apartments. The location was perfect for our needs, lots of restaurants and bars. Apartment was clean, spacious and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We chose Apartments of South Yarra for their convenience and were not disappointed. They were also clean and roomy and the staff from Claremont Guest House down the road provided excellent service.

We stayed for 2 weeks and also had our bikes. The convenience we were looking for was to be close to lots of amenities, like Chapel St, railway station, Prahran markets etc.

I have a couple of blogs that may be of interest. First one is of all the cafes in Melbourne we visited on our bikes; http://spottedatespressomelbourne.wordpress.com/
and secondly, what to do in Sydney for 7 days; http://sydney-jono.blogspot.co.nz/

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed in a 1bdrm apartment for two nights during Christmas 2011. The apartment is spacious and very clean and is well equipped with everything you might need during your stay.
We had to check in at Claremont Guest House which I didn't like it as we had too wait for too long to find the person at the desk and the lobby was crowded with loud people but once he was there everything went very easy and quick and he was very friendly although it was 12 am after Christmas day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HodaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed in this apartment in the last two weeks of April (Autumn).

This apartment is managed by the Claremont Guest House only 5 minutes walk away. The advantage of this is it has a 24 hour reception desk which means convenience for checkin and checkout and any issues. Very friendly and helpful staff. The apartment has free WIFI now too which is great.

The apartment was quite roomy and a good sized full kitchen (i.e. full size fridge, oven and stove top). There is no dishwasher, but this is not an issue for us. There is air conditioning and an oil filled heater. The apartments face east and west, so there is morning and evening sun.

The location was excellent for traveling north, south, west or east. The South Yarra train station is about 5-10 minute walk on Toorak St. The tram is a 5 minute walk, if that, on Chapel or Toorak St. The Prahran Markets are only about 10 minute walk away to stock up on fruit, veggies and supplies for dinner.

We had our bicycles (highly recommended for getting around flat Melbourne cycle lanes) and found that Chapel Road easy to negotiate. Also the Yarra River cycleway was only about 5 minutes bike away.

We paid in full upon checkin, so we did not need to go back to the Claremont to check out. They do have storage if necessary.

We debated all the various areas where we would like to stay next time. However, at the end of the day, South Yarra is the most 'central' without being in the city. In fact, we only went to the city twice during the 2 week stay. We would stay at this accommodation again.

There are some great cafes close by, reviewed in our blog: http://espresso-jono.blogspot.co.nz/

Room Tip: Try and get one upstairs, i.e. not the ground floor. There is no lift, so level 2 would be ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#77 of 159 in Melbourne
330 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Darling Apartments South Yarra
#35 of 136 in Melbourne
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oaks South Yarra
#22 of 136 in Melbourne
108 reviews
District South Yarra
#4 of 26 in Yarra
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments of South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments of South Yarra

Property: Apartments of South Yarra
Address: 46 Arthur St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments of South Yarra 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apartments of South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing