We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartments of South Yarra
Ranked #35 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were surprised by this unit. It is conveniently located with parking on site. The original building is old but has been totally redone. The furniture is modern and the unit is large enough for long term stays. Please note, the keys need to be picked up at a hotel about 2 blocks away. This was not an issue and now that we know the process, we'll be back.

Room Tip: There are no elevators but the stairways are wide and safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shasza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
46
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Apartments of South Yarra for one week over Christmas 2010. The apartment was spacious and very clean with a fully featured kitchenette, meals area and free internet access.

We did not have a car so it was easy to catch a train from the city to South Yarra station (2 stops) and walk two blocks to the Claremont Hotel to check in. I had previously stayed at the Claremont Hotel and on both occassions found the reception staff extremely friendly and helpful. The apartments themselves are an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel.

You cannot fault the location in South Yarra with everything in easy access and we found it was the perfect base to explore (midway between the City and St Kilda). I would not even bother looking for anywhere else to stay the next time I am in Melbourne and for $100 a night you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimewaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed in the South Yarra Apartments which are part of the Claremont Hotel on Toorak Road. We arrived at 7am so the apt wasn't free until 1pm so we were able to store our bags at the hotel. We were allowed to have breakfast at the hotel every morning and use their wifi - even after we checked out we came back for the wifi. (Note: the apt only has cable internet) The apt was clean, spacious and warm and had all neccessary and essential equipment required. Only 5mins walk to South Yarra station and chapel street so great location also. Good place to stay in Melbourne!

Room Tip: All good - apartment 11 had a view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sotontravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Pros: Pretty clean, very quiet. Comfortable beds. Complete kitchen (a lot of apartments like this don't have real ovens, only microwaves - there was a hob, oven, microwave, fridge), decent heater, small outdoor space so you could eat outside if the weather cooperated. The staff were friendly and helpful at reception. Basically the apartment delivered pretty much all that was promised.

The neighbourhood itself is a really good base for exploring Melbourne, you're 5 minutes by foot from the train and trams, as well as shops etc on Toorak.

Cons: Some of the cleaning in the bathroom wasn't great (hairs in corners, a bit of mould in the shower etc), I would have liked to have a better selection of TV channels (we were traveling with our young son - this means you're actually in the room evenings), the broadband internet was annoying on two fronts: the supplied cable meant that you HAD to use it on the kitchen table and the speeds were near dialup a lot of the time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camerondotca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

We have stayed in the Apartments of South Yarra three times over the past three years.The fact that we keep returning should tell you something!
The location is really good with tram and train access very close by. The apartments themselves are situated in a quiet street between Torak Road and Chapel Street, two of the area's most vibrant thoroughfares. Supermarkets, specialist foodstores and the excellent Parahan Market are all nearby.
The cooking faciliities are more than adequate and there are TVs, DVD players and radio/CD players provided.
The apartments are administered by the staff at the Claremont Hotel, five minutes walk away on the Toorak Road. They are helpful, friendly and efficient, acting promptly to ensure the happiness of their customers.
We can recommend The Apartments of South Yarra to anyone who wants clean, unfussy, safe accommodation at a decent price in a really good central location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed one week at this property during an extended visit throughout Australia. The location was great: 10 min. walk to train, 3 min. walk to a tram; and Melbourne transit was easy to sort out. There was some noise from the nearby train tracks, but not unpleasant for us.
Laundry facilities were clean and included a secure outdoor drying area. The kitchen would suffice for an extended stay, and nearby shops could provide anything else we needed. Any issues with housekeeping or cleanliness were quickly addressed by management. I was disappointed that the advertised free internet was not available for my own computer, which uses wireless only.
The ensuite bath was truly ensuite, not "in suite". Access to the toilet is via the bedroom, not the sitting room, so could be a bit awkward if a couple is traveling with a single.
The immediate neighborhood is residential/holiday accommodation, with shops and restaurants within a 3 min. walk. The surrounding commerce district includes fashion shops, restaurants and bars, and remains vibrant late into the night.
Check-in and guest services are located a 10 minute walk from the actual apartment, in the associated Hotel Claremont. The staff are very helpful, and the office staffed at all hours (reception closed during meal breaks).
I would stay again when looking for a low-budget self-contained lodging.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoast_Girl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent two weeks at the South Yarra apartments after arriving in Melbourne and needing a home away from home while we looked for an apartment (we are in Melbourne for a year). The online booking for the first few days was a breeze, and the rate was great for the area (South Yarra is quite trendy and posh). We picked up the keys at the Guest House basically one block away, and we were greeted with smiles and great service. The apartments are one quiet block off Chapel Street, which is bustling with shops and cafes, etc. The apartments look basic and simple from the outside, but once we walked n our apt, we were totally impressed. Full kitchen, small and compact but very modern and updates, with everything you need. I found the apt white, bright, tidy and smart. I'm picky and don't like dirt - these apartments are very, very clean. Nice white sheets, clean, bright bathroom, etc. Internet included, some basic channels on the TV, a DVD player, etc. Not much of a view (sort of a residential area). Was so nice to be able to come back to a home vs a hotel feel. We ended up needing to stay more days as we stressfully searched for a permanent home, and the front desk was helpful and happy to keep us in our room and move a few others around so we could stay longer. When the internet went down one weekend, they offered us free computer time over at the guest house. There's also a free parking spot they give you if you have a car.

I would absolutely stay here again, and would recommend these apts to anyone. They are not huge, but everything you need, with modern furnishings (very IKEA feel). You're close to everything you need too, without the mass scale of a crowded hotel with huge hallways and elevators. I thought the service was wonderful and helpful and they made our initiation to Melbourne lovely! A great find.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanBC_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#69 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Darling Apartments South Yarra
#34 of 132 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oaks South Yarra
#24 of 132 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
District South Yarra
#4 of 26 in Yarra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments of South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments of South Yarra

Property: Apartments of South Yarra
Address: 46 Arthur Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments of South Yarra 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments of South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing