We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistantly OK”

Spicy Fish Restaurant
Ranked #888 of 4,034 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Consistantly OK”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Been there a couple of times and would go back again. Every thing I have eaten reminds me of being in Hong Kong sitting on the street ordering from plastic menus with pictures ! I am not sure why people think this is expensive, maybe I am just getting used to overpriced Melbourne! If you want a cheap eat then come here at lunch they have several $10 plates on offer and the Spicy Fish soup is lovely....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank feedback-and-wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    93
    37
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boorhaman, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“BEST HONEY CHICKEN!!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

loved it all. we went at 11:300 after the footy, and we came here and had honey chicken. it was the best food i have ever eaten. DO NOT GO TO MELBOURNE AND NOT COME HERE!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachesareawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Spicy Fish. Price is Expensive.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The restaurant is located at the top end of Melbourne's Chinatown. The food is quite expensive. But if you can take “hot and spicy” food, then you should try their Spicy Fish ---it really feels the "burning" in your stomach. The pork and ginger steamed dumplings and their fried noodles were just ok only – it was not so fantastic. The restaurant is always crowded that you may need to wait for seating. It may be close to the end of the operating day, thus, their staff didn't seem to be friendly or excellence to me – They were gathered together, chit-chat and were laughing at the cashier counter (quite noisy), that we need to shout for the staff in order to get the bill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cscvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Dined here recently on the recommendation of friends. Glad we did. While not cheap, the quality was very good. Very extensive menu. Would visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jemane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Brutal”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

So bad. Vegetables covered in hot dust. Crab with enough chilli on it to kill a horse. Expensive for where and what it is. Very rare to get truly awful meal in melbourne where standards are so high. I've no idea why it is so popular!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spicy Fish Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Spicy Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing