We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Vue

Bistro Vue
Ranked #148 of 3,684 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Bistro Vue's lauded menu is classic French cooking at its best: steeped in tradition, using the finest produce. Premium oysters and caviar crown a selection of sublime appetisers, exquisite entrees and magnificent mains boasting the very best of meat, fish and garden produce. Guaranteed to satisfy any craving. Our weekday 'plat du jour' menu offers unbeatable value with a prime main, salad, and glass of wine for just $32, celebrating the historic art of fine French cuisine. Our sides, fashioned from Victoria's best produce, seamlessly tailored to our prime courses, mare perfect for sharing, while our deceptively simple desserts unite technique, precision, and knowledge to crest a truly memorable mouthful. And what bistro experience would be complete without cheese? Our enviable trolley selection will satisfy even the most discerning fromage fancier. Bistro Vue: a taste of France you won't soon forget.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

When I was in Melbourne for a conference recently I visited Bistro Vue for dinner twice in 3 days. On the first occasion I was with 2 colleagues and the second time on my own. When I arrived alone reading material had been thoughtfully placed on my table. This exemplifies the level of service that you can expect here - professional and attentive. I can only endorse what the other reviewers have said. On my first visit, we all had the duck for main course and the creme brulee, souffle and snickers bar for dessert. For my second dinner I chose the plat du jour, which was the pied du cochon and included a salad and glass of wine for $32 - excellent value! Don't be put off by the pig's trotter as it's filled with a fabulous chicken mousseline and makes an excellent light main course. This is essential if you are considering having a dessert here. The apple tarte tatin is scrumptious, but huge. It could easily be shared, but if dining alone then one must do it justice and eat slowly until it is all consumed! Booking is essential at this popular venue. You should definitely include a visit to this fabulous bistro in your Melbourne itinerary.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QldTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    121
    51
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food,great service,great atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We went here on our honeymoon, food was amazing especially the sirloin and desserts! 'Snickers bar' is a must. Service was fantastic, they go that extra mile to make us feel special. The best part was to be able to watch the chef do his thing in the kitchen!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chalineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“A amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We went for a 21st dinner. The champagne was French yum. The Sydney oysters were fresh, the duck was exquisite, the fish was excellent, the veal was great. The soufflé was Amazing that my husband forgot to share. I had the chocolate biscuit preparation very special and the surprise when you crack the 2cm tall biscuit. Service was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Legacy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best lamb I think Ive ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Has a business lunch at Bistro Vue recently. Ive been a couple of times before, and this time decided to have the special rotisserie which was lamb. The lamb was clearly glazed. When bought to the table, it was like a large lump of meat, but after the first bite, I just couldn't get enough - it was melt-in-your-mouth delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow cooked wagyu offcut & Tarte Tatin a must try here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Ambience – 2/3 – This upscale bistro was the former VDM. The bistro i s divided into different areas, some more private than the others, we had a lovely corner spot away from the largest dining section.
Service 3/5 - No issues with the service we received, everyone from the lady at the reception to all the waiters and waitresses were all friendly and knowledgeable.
Food - 7.5/10 – We ordered the 6 course chef's degustation menu. Which started with 3 entrees, there was the Garlic snails, the Citrus cured mackerel and Acquerello mushroom risotto, with a 3 slivers of truffle(that really bought out the flavour the dish) all of the three were extremely well prepared dishes, though i was partial to the risotto while the better half preferred the mackerel. This was followed by a palate cleanser, and the then followed by a Slow cooked secondary cut Wagyu with a 9+ marble score, this was an absolute standout dish for both of us on the night. The dessert they offered us something(don't remember), we were there to try the very popular Tarte Tatin and boy that didn't disappoint.
Visit Again 1/2 - Certainly not a cheap 'bistro', I reckon its riding on the laurels of its flagship restaurant VDM, so overall its a bit on expensive side for what you get.
Total Damage (incl drinks) - 145pp (we didn't drink any wine on the night, though a brief perusal of the wine menu, it would have easily added another $100 to our bill)
13.5/20

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Vue also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Bistro Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing