We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely love this place...”
Review of Bistro Vue

Bistro Vue
Ranked #149 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Bistro Vue's lauded menu is classic French cooking at its best: steeped in tradition, using the finest produce. Premium oysters and caviar crown a selection of sublime appetisers, exquisite entrees and magnificent mains boasting the very best of meat, fish and garden produce. Guaranteed to satisfy any craving. Our weekday 'plat du jour' menu offers unbeatable value with a prime main, salad, and glass of wine for just $32, celebrating the historic art of fine French cuisine. Our sides, fashioned from Victoria's best produce, seamlessly tailored to our prime courses, mare perfect for sharing, while our deceptively simple desserts unite technique, precision, and knowledge to crest a truly memorable mouthful. And what bistro experience would be complete without cheese? Our enviable trolley selection will satisfy even the most discerning fromage fancier. Bistro Vue: a taste of France you won't soon forget.
Sydney
Level Contributor
177 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Absolutely love this place...”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This restaurant never disappoints. Ambience is beautiful - from the French music to the quirky decor, ability to see into the kitchen - gorgeous. The food is always good - hearty french fare. The John Dory was a delight as always and the Tarte Tartin and Brule (shared between 4 of us - that's how big the serving is) was a fabulous way to end a meal. Service was brilliant - nothing too much trouble. Well done Shannon Bennett and team - please open a similar venue in Sydney!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyGlobalShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    146
    56
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful fare!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited after sensational cocktails at the Lui Bar. There's a lovely ambience at Bistro Vue. The meals were beautifully presented and tasted wonderful, it took me back to a small village in the South of France. Lovely to be able to watch the chefs plating up from your seat in the dining room. We definatley will be back. Thank you Shannon Bennett, your contribution to Melbourne's hospitality is fantastic. Vue De Monde, here we come!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 121herald3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalow, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My favourite thing about Melbourne”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Each time we are in Melbourne we dine at Bistro Vue. The service is always impeccable. This is the case at all of Shannon Bennett's establishments. The French speaking staff indulge us by allowing us to practice our French and we always enjoy the experience. The food is faultless and the atmosphere cosy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GetForkedandFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Make this a priority”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to Bistro Vue last night, after having been to The Lui bar for pre-dinner drinks. It was a truly beautiful meal. I had the house smoked trout for entree, delicious, i then had the lamb rump with piperade, & potatoe fondant, again, tender & so very tasty. My friend & I shared the tarte tatin(thank goodness, as it was huge) for dessert, & it was to die for. We thoroughly enjoyed watching the kitchen goings on in the large mirror, I felt like we were at a cooking school, watching their preparation of the plates going out to the diners. Great to see how much they care about they're food looking great.This is a lovely, Parisian styled restaurant. A treat to be able to go to a Shannon Bennett restaurant. I can't wait to go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gnilwod19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“merveilleux !!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was lucky enough to eat at Bistro Vue whilst in Melbourne on Business and it was wonderful.We were served piping hot bread rolls with soft butte which was a good start,we then ordered half a dozen Native Moonlight Bay flat oysters from Batemans Bay - I am an oyster nut and these were near the best oysters I have ever tasted.The Steak tartare was another hit and every ingredient had been mixed in - simply superb flavours ! For main course I chose the Rangers Valley Wagyu 400 days aged which was wonderfully tender which melted in my mouth.We washed that down with a great bottle of Muddy water pinot noir.The service was great and I will most definitely be heading back there next time I am in Melbourne

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roosterman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Vue also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Bistro Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing