We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pricey but fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koko Black Chocolate

Koko Black Chocolate
Ranked #3 of 83 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Lovers of chocolate indulge your cravings, savour our handmade chocolates and meander amongst our range of nibbles at the 'Paris End' of Collins St salon.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pricey but fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very tasty thick hot chocolate - rich and creamy. Excellent chocolates - thin shells and generous centres, very good flavours and textures. A brilliant experience, would recommend to any chocolate lover!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    134
    28
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“fantastic chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Yesterday we queued to get a seat in the coffee shop, it was well worth the wait. The dessert degustation plate was so yummy
We will be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never forget the taste of the Hot Chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Try it yourself and enjoy the mythical taste of hot chocolate.

It also offers a wide range of magnificent range of cakes and Belgian chocolates which are really hard to find outside Belgium.

Must do in Melbourne!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick_au_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely chocolate, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We ended up ordering the Belgian Spoil and Raspberry Chocolate Dome (a few of our preferences were sold out). Both dishes were amazing, especially considering the price!

The atmosphere was great, they had normal tables but I automatically headed for the giant couch in the middle, it stood out and I like novelty. The staff were all attentive and lovely, offering us water as soon as we sat down and also a sample of honeycomb chocolate as we were browsing the selection of take home chocolates they had on display.

I wish I could come here again for dessert some time, but they close at 6pm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarara_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“More than just a chocolate shop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Koko Black has a range superb cakes, desserts and hand-crafted chocolates available in their salon (cafe). These delicious treats can be washed down with tea, coffee or a hot chocolate.
The hot chocolate is rich and smooth with a consistency of thin custard. The staff are laid back and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paloma057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koko Black Chocolate also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Koko Black Chocolate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing