We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tempura in Melbourne!!”
Review of Tempura Hajime

Tempura Hajime
Ranked #500 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $52 - $105
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best tempura in Melbourne!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

accidently found this place on my own and they happened to have one spot empty. waited at their entrance lobby for about 15 min, the furnish and finishing was cute. sit at the bar, which can only hold 10-12 people. one chief cooking everything freshly in front of you. food only comes in set, three sets you can choose, and think the cheapest one is $65 per person, but otally worth it. the tempura is really fresh, crunchy out side but soft and warm inside and not oily at all. interesting combination of the seafood and vege, the tastes are quite surprising. the sashimi is lovely, expecially the fried egg with restaurant's name on it. one shot of drink included in the set as well. dessert is cute although it not as surprising as other dishes. very full after dinner.

better book for reservation before going.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulichio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

It's a bit of a hidden gem as we walked straight by and didn't see it. The tempura was absolutely beautiful .. Fresh and amazing . We had our own chef as we were quiet late but people before us had amazing night too .... It's lots of food but the tempura is so light and delicate that's it's amazing and a show to watch the entertaining chef

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andowhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Small wonder”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hajime is located in South Melbourne and is a very unassuming little Japanese restaurant seating a total of 12 people around a central open kitchen.
The chef prepares a range of sushi and sashimi as well as fresh tempura. The menu is not extensive and offers a small but satisfying range of lunch or dinner options.
Ingredients are fresh and the tempura batter is the best I have eaten - light and crisp with no oil residue.
Bookings are essential due to the small amount of seating available.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HasantiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Refined authentic Japanese experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Having tried many Japanese restaurants in Australia and having lived in Japan for 22 years, we consider Tempura Hajime to be as close as one could get to the true Japanese dining experience in Australia. Upon entering into a cool, rather dark, elegant space, there is no sign of the actual dining area. Then a door is opened and we enter a lovely, light, blonde room with one large counter in magnificent light wood and subtle light olive walls. Soft piano music compliments the ambience and we are seated at the counter, which has twelve comfortable chairs, facing the two large, copper shielded frying woks.
The tempura set was a taste delight, with some innovations taking advantage of the local Australian ingredients. Mention should be made of the delicious sashimi starter, superbly fresh. We were completely satisfied with the tempura set, but I suppose if you are really hungry you could add the sushi. Highlights of the tempura were the corn fritter, sweet potato and the prawn. The small dessert of pannacotta and grapes was just right to complement the meal. There is a good selection of Sake ,and the Jyozen from Niigata was great. Only small criticism to what was a great meal, was the rather cheap paper napkins. These detracted from an elegant and refined dining experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“worth the price”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Delish food cooked to order in fron of you, all tempura but lots of variety and friendly service. totally hidden away and great for a small group or romantic night for two

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bbtravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempura Hajime also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Tempura Hajime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing