We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic private dining in the Highland Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockpool Bar & Grill

Rockpool Bar & Grill
Ranked #62 of 4,054 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $196
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic private dining in the Highland Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Wow, best steak in a long time, was with 14 people in the private dining room which with glass walls keeps you part of the restaurant but also private. Wine a little pricey but then I'm a pom.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank portishead123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    408
    197
    82
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magnificent food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Wow, we've eaten a few meals here now and the food and service never fails to be top notch. We have been celebrating anniversaries and birthdays here since we discovered it a couple of years ago and are never disappointed. The steak is always perfect and we are slowly working our way through all the different sides, all of which so far are outstanding. Every single thing about this restaurant is perfect! Try the salted caramels for dessert - it is the perfect sweet finish to a magnificent feast!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This restaurant was booked for us by our concierge at our hotel and didn't really know what to expect. What we got was the best meal I've had in Melbourne and fine service and atmosphere.
better than my Sydney Rockpool experience but far.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Worth the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great for a special occasion dinner - service was exceptional, meals were delicious and we thought they were generous portions for the mains. Couldn't fault our experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kristyw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the expense”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Melbourne has a very competitive food scene. Amazing food for great value. Unfortunately our 2 experiences at Rockpool were not up to this standard. Our first experience involved a minute steak that had sauce so salty it could have been straight out of the ocean. It was sent back with the feedback that it shouldn't have left the kitchen (where is the quality control?). To their credit, they erased this item from the bill, but the damage was done as we could no longer taste anything else. We decided to give them another chance given their high rating in The Age Good Food Guide and Neil Perry's reputation. This time the steak was cooked well but was not worth the pricey listing (it was not wagu). There are much better restaurants in Melbourne and for much better value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aussieWayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockpool Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Rockpool Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing