We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class meal in a first class restaurant with prices to match”

Rockpool Bar & Grill
Ranked #62 of 4,116 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $196
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A first class meal in a first class restaurant with prices to match”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Rockpool Bar and Grill is located in the Crown Entertainment Complex on the side of the Yarra River. The menu is extensive with something to please everyone's palate together with a large - and expensive - wine list. The service is friendly and efficient. On the night of our visit, every table was occupied, some more than once.A place for repeat visits provided your wallet can stand it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatthewJames2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    430
    211
    87
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I dined here on the 31st for a birthday. Service, food, everything was amazing!! I would recomend all the deserts on the menu.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sorry .. But this was awful!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited Melbourne Rockpool with some international businessmen. The five of us were put on a table for four. It was extremely squashy - one guest sat sideways for the meal. Even though I spoke to the waiter to explain that this was uncomfortable and not suitable he made no attempt to move us. The waiters were rushing around, every dish was brought out by a different waiter. I think we had six different waiters all up. The whole experience was hurried and stressful. No-one on the table was impressed by their steak, mine was burnt. Food in this restaurant is extremely overpriced. A few days later we had a steak in another Southbank restaurant (this one was not a steak establishment) and it was delicious. Rockpool prides itself on being a steak restaurant but be prepared to be disappointed and spend well beyond what the meal was worth!

Helpful?
3 Thank Aussie_traveller053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Seemless”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a great space, a great venue, food was a 4 star but not a knockout 5 star. On a week when I ate at Movida and Epocha the venue is a 1st place but the food was a clear 3rd. Not saying it was average by any means but I felt it lacked the wow factor the other restaurants had.

Service great, wine list stunning, great business dinner or lunch venue as it has great acoustics.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slamminsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location - really excellent food - service a little stiff”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The title pretty much says it all. Right on the waterfront area of the Yarra Yarra river in Southbank. The grain fed beef is really fabulous and the side dishes also great. The service was attentive, but not friendly. I would still recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aiscifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockpool Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Rockpool Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing