We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockpool Bar & Grill

Rockpool Bar & Grill
Ranked #62 of 4,054 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $196
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely restaurant and ambiance...food was nice although my $50 steak was a bit tough...I expected it to be amazing and blow me away...everything else was lovely though

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lympant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    408
    197
    82
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner at Rockpool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food was very good, a little disappointed with the service on the night. Must admit that we did not book and for that reason we were seated in a very dark corner of the restaurant, when we asked to move we were told that there were no other tables available, ended up seated in the wine bar. Found it a little difficult to understand the difference in pricing between the retsaurant and bar!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank suebrooks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a great place to meet up with friends in the city - we all had a fabulous time and thoroughly enjoyed the different dishes that we all tried.

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Attempted rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

When we got the bill, we found that management had added a $600 surcharge, we asked what for, they said surcharge, we asked again, they said it was a gratuity, but we did not have to pay it if we din't want to!!

Since when do management add the tip to the bill in Australia?
Unless we had thoroughly checked everything we would have missed this.
Clearly they were trying to swindle us.
Not good enough for a big name restaurant, actually disgraceful behaviour.

I will let the owner Neil Perry know what his staff are up to, unless he sanctions this sort of trickery himself.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have been to this restaurant a number of times now, and I will be returning again soon.
The atmosphere is just amazing, especially if you can get a spot by the window along southbank so you can view the city lights.
The staff are always very attentitive and polite, and the food.. WOW! If you love a good steak this is the place for you. I have only ever had the steak here because I just cant go past them.
Will not dissapoint.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank krystal g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockpool Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rockpool Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing