We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can this restaurant locate to the uk or at least open a branch here?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Attica

Attica
Ranked #120 of 3,835 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $30 - $120
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can this restaurant locate to the uk or at least open a branch here?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had the Tuesday chefs menu with daughter and son in law (Melbourne residents) we (the parents from UK) all had a fantastic dining experience. The menu was innovative and extremely tasty we could have licked the plates. Having dined in a few michelin star restaurants in the UK this was equally on a par and did not disappoint. The price reflected the quality. We found the staff to be very attentive and knowledgeable. The one disappointment we now know of after reading these reviews is that some diners had the chance to see the garden or talk to the chef which we would have loved to have done. Overall excellent and not to be forgotten. I would suspect that Macdonalds patrons would not appreciate or understand this level of dining.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Earlygrey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    49
    41
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
369 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Deserves a spot among the world's best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This is 'foraging meets fine dining' with New Zealand-born chef Ben Shewry presiding. It's very innovative food with some huge wow moments, while some dishes (the desserts in particular) a little challenging for the tastebuds. It's a restaurant to linger in - our evening there started early and took over five hours to go through the full tasting menu, including a lovely 'pre-dessert' prepared out in the restaurant's herb garden. A great experience with very good service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thefoodieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“No Michelin Restaurant but WOW!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I lived on the French Riviera for 20 years and was able to sample many Michelin starred restaurants there. My comments for Attica:
Superb, innovative, flavour packed food served in just the right portions and paired with unusual and thought provoking wines. Easily the best restaurant food I have ever had in Australia. The Bistro ambience would make it difficult to earn stars.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JEFF K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Simply flawless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We chose the tasting menu and are still raving about it. The staff were excellent, timing perfect and wine matched brilliantly. We simply cant wait for our next visit!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MagsC_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Attica a force to be reckoned with”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

After a very long wait to score a reservation at one of the Worlds Best Restaurants, it as a pleasure to finally cross this off my bucket list.
With apologies for my tardiness, I had booked for 6.30 pm, but misunderstood and thought the reservation was for 7.30 pm.
A call from the restaurant was well appreciated, but would suggest that their phone system be change to allow for guests to call and apologise for delay, only got recording to advise of reservation hours.
Arriving at the restaurant , there was nothing but warm greetings and no reprimand , for this I thank them.
Tuesday night gives the restaurant the opportunity to try new dishes at the chefs discretion.
Despite being advised of a strict dietary requirement nit being able to be accommodated , the staff went to great pains to waive this rule.
Not all five courses wowed me, but there is no disputing this is a truly special restaurant .
Wine pairings complimented each dish, with truly professional services staff.
Australia must be leading the way with service at restaurants.
Reservations are only taken for three months in advance, which is an indication of the quality of the restaurant .
Attica well deserves their ranking among the Worlds Best Restaurants, and should be be placed on any "must visit" visits.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Entry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Attica also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Attica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing