We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap”
Review of Chocolate Buddha

Chocolate Buddha
Ranked #30 of 4,034 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: In the heart of Federation Square with some of Melbourne's most impressive views, Chocolate Buddha is a Japanese casual dining experience. The menu consists of sushi, sharing dishes, Ramen & Donburi. We cater for vegetarians and have a substantial gluten free section on our menu. We cater for functions for 8 people and more and have great sharing function menus We hope to see you soon
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I ate here a week ago and was pretty disappointed, the service is average, I ate one of the gluten free meals and had stomach pains all night so suspect there was something in the meal that didn't agree - very uninspiring and what you would expect from a takeaway.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocolate B, Owner at Chocolate Buddha, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Janice, I sorry to read that your experience at our restaurant was unenjoyable. We have over the past few years continued to extend our gluten free menu to the delight of many guests. Gluten free does not equate to taste free and we have in this case failed to deliver our usual standard. I will continue to work with our kitchen team to improve our gluten free offering. Thank-you for taking the time to give us feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    169
    60
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice Japanese lunch to beat the winter blue”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

A friend invited me over there for a Friday lunch in a sunny winter day. It was my first time being to this restaurant. I like their lunch special and their Japanese fusion cheesecake (see photo). There was a very nice but very small dish of sashimi in the tray, and I wish there were more.
The services there were quite good, fast but attentive.
However, I do find this restaurant a bit pricey, maybe the rent in Feb Square is quite high?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freq_bus_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocolate B, Owner at Chocolate Buddha, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank-you for choosing Chocolate Buddha from the thousands of other restaurants in Melbourne and the hundreds of Japanese restaurants. We are so glad you enjoyed our lunch tray. Sometimes having 6-7 different tasty morsels is a nice change from a single meal. We are working at adding more lunch trays due to the positive feedback from our guests. We hope to be able to provide great service and good food to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Back Again- just as good!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Recently returned to the Chocolate Buddha for a lunch- the food was excellent, especially the gyoza- well done good to know standards have not dropped!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trebor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocolate B, Owner at Chocolate Buddha, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We work diligently at trying to maintain a standard and are thrilled we did not disappoint. We hope we can deliver even better food and service the next time you visit. Domo Arigato!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SUSPECTED FOOD POISONING!!!!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Monday 12th May 2014 had lukewarm ramon salmon soup and ended up in agony. Gut problems have continued well after the advised time my doctor gave. when I responsibly phoned to let the restaurant know about my agonising night, I was cockily offered a free meal ?
The level of comprehension and accountability was disturbing as was the manager's response that he found my observation that he was cocky an insult to him personally. Personality should not enter this, he represents a restaurant and was oblivious to all the implications of serving soup below a safe temperature!
The manager then rang to suggest that the culprit was something else and asked whether she could speak to MY GP.... Where is the line here???
I am very sorry that I warned them in advance and so they were able to prepare for the inspector's visit ... in hindsight, what an idiotic thing to do!
The Health Department's response was level and dispassionate, as it needed to be.
AVOID this restaurant as not only may you also end up writhing on the floor but then be abused by their staff and even their owner.
AVOID!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank irene604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocolate B, Owner at Chocolate Buddha, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Irene
Please don't feel sorry that you warned us about contacting the health officer as i believe you might recall that i suggested you do so. We also put in a call to the department as we want to get to the bottom of this. Our premises are regularly inspected by The City of Melbourne environmental health office. We adhere to all regulations and participate in safe food handling practices. This event was an unfortunate rare incident and we are working with the department to find out what happened and to ensure this never happens again.
We take this matter very seriously and it is unfortunate that we were not able to convince you otherwise
I hope you are feeling better
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great venue”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We ventured for dinner Saturday night when there was a Korean festival on.

Restaurant right opposite federation square so great entertainment while eating dinner.

Food was really nice and cooked well. The chicken don was beautiful. Service a bit slow and overall a great night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Buddha also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chocolate Buddha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing