We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you must go!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Pepper Indian Restaurant

Red Pepper Indian Restaurant
Ranked #436 of 4,054 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chinatown
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“you must go!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My friend introduced this restaurant to me to go to.so glad she did because it was so delicious! Each dish was about in the range $10 to $13. All of the curries we had were packed with texture and taste.
there is good balance between the dishes in the menu with about half veg and half non- veg. Also not to mention the service was reasonably attentive. They always greet with very friendly smiles.
I will definitely be back :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dutbene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    111
    40
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not more than avarage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've been there to taste the special indian cuisine but became disappointed. The cury was quite tasteless and the naas were very greasy. I've felt that I would cook better at home, and that is something you don't want when you have dinner out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Rafael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My expectations were quite high for this place. The curry servings were rather small and lacked flavour. It's like they are trying to make the meals more western friendly as opposed to an authentic Indian food. It was very eatable and not a bad pace to eat in Melbourne but not amazing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie32a2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“What a ripper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Eating here with two teenagers in July 2013. We stayed at Mantra on the Park and Red Pepper was a 5 minute walk away into Bourke Street.

Green Pepper is right next door with table clothes, table service and two people eating. Red Pepper on the other hand no table clothes, order and pay at the cash register and people queued out the door.

You have a very short time to choose your meal at the cash register as others behind you wait. Easy choice for the kids Butter Chicken and then we ordered a goat curry and chicken tikka masala.

Take our number find a table and within 10 minutes dinner was here. Meals served with rice and naan.

A cracker of a meal, will definitely go again and would have this time but only found it on our last night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Changed to middle of the road resturant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Came in 2012 and loved the authentic Indian home cooking and Kashmiri nan.

Returned in August 2013 to find a cafeteria style, no Kashmiri nan and they no longer do mango chutney with the per made papadoms.

Ok but no longer the no frills but 5 star experience quality we knew and loved.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Pepper Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Pepper Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing