We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aria Hotel Apartments
Ranked #111 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Eaton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights business and pleasure.
Apartment was in need of a good clean, pillows lumpy. Daily serviced during the week, but nothing anywhere to say it doesn't happen at the weekend. Would stay again. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank julesnpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    131
    64
    29
    30
See reviews for
93
68
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

No double glazing and the traffic noise is terrible. Also a nightclub near by that's open until 5 am and it sounds like your right on top of it. Would NEVER stay again. Worst apartment for noise I have ever stayed in.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank WendTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A group of us have been friends since meeting in Sydney in the early 80's and some years back we decided we should all get together every year or two altho we're spread out around the country. As it was we decided on Melbourne as it was easiest for us all to get to. Little did I realise when I organised our weekend it was Melbourne Cup weekend so I thought accommodation might be a little tricky. As it was we got into the Southbank Plum Serviced Apartments. We booked 2 two bedroom apartments and 1 single bedroom. Booking was easy and no probs checking in - we did have to sign a no party and no smoking policy. One of our friends drove from country Victoria and parking was available at the property which she didn't have to book and cost $12/day. The day we arrived a new French Patisserie opened next door which offered great fare - yum.. The rooms were great. The living area was spacious, self contained with kitchenette, laundry and very comfortable. We had a good view from the balcony. It's in a good location and the city centre is within an easy walk - if you like walking that is. All in all a good place to stay and I would again. The only thing that we thought a little unusual in our apartment was the double bedroom door was mostly glass with no curtain or screen so no privacy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTrajkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I booked a girls weekend away to Melbourne as a surprise for my mum's Birthday. We stayed Friday and left Monday. It was sort of a last minute idea so I couldn't opt for a more pricey apartment but still wanted to stay somewhere nice & a good location. There were 4 of us and I chose the 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom apartment with a city view. We were given a room on the 10th floor.

Pros:
- Location is FANTASIC! Less than 5 minute walk to the Casino and 10 minute walk to the Yarra where all the restaurants and shops are. Without realizing we we there over Chinese New Year and there were markets, food & entertainment right down the Promenade for the whole weekend! Also the city is not far at all, just a tram ride away - maybe 15 minute walk.
The aquarium is also a 10 minute walk away!
- Although we weren't on the highest floor in the building, the view we had from our roon was amazing! Especially at night time. Definitely recommend a city view apartment.
- Apartment had working air conditioning
- The kitchen was reasonable with gas stove, fridge, microwave, dishwasher and all other utensils.

Cons:
- We had trouble when we first checked using the key, it would not work in the lift and we had a to get it changed twice.
- Our apartment was so small for 4 adults. Only one couch in the living area. Really cramped to sit 3 people together, and I often had to sit on the floor.. which I didn't mind since I was the youngest. But I think adding another sofa, even a 1 seater would have made our stay a little more comfy.
- We had 4 single beds, 1 bedroom off the lounge area only had a sliding door separating the rooms. This room did have most of the natural light coming from the main window which was nice.
- This bedroom was also attached to the bathroom/toilet (sliding door again which did not even close or lock properly). And another door from the dining/lounge.
- The second bedroom had a tiny window in the corner which let hardly any natural light in because it was enclosed by surrounding walls. This room was so dark and stuffy.
- The shower had no door.
- And the traffic noise, TERRIBLE if you're a light sleeper. It sounded like we were on the first floor to be honest.
- Attention to detail was poor, scuff marks on the walls and poor paint job. Also finger prints left from previous people.
- The laundry is literally a closet with a washing machine and dryer stacked on top of each other and an iron and ironing board squeezed in.

I booked this room straight through the Plum website. And when I put my credit card details in to pay for the room it had said I'd paid the deposit blah blah, I got a statement in an email. But when we got there reception said the FULL amount was due.. apparently they don't physically take the funds even though the email they send SAYS deposit paid. This really annoyed me, it should be more clear that it's not really a deposit. Lucky I had enough funds on me to cover the full $700*. So be aware that when you pay the 'deposit', it doesn't actually take the funds you still have to pay in full on arrival! If I'd known I wouldn't have been so annoyed by it.

Overall we had a good weekend due to the location and how close we were to everything. The apartment wasn't BAD, but it could have been better.

Probably won't stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nads19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

This place was really good. We never had to wait for lifts, reception staff were really helpful. The aircon was fantastic in the heat wave. Close to everything. The apartment itself had plenty of room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

There are some great things going on here, like the location, but overall I cant say that I'm excited.

Great view from the 37th floor, but cold and uninviting place. The hall is white on white and not at all welcoming, you are grateful for the light colours, as there is no lighting! An energy saving thing, but when the elevator door opens, it is completely dark save for the glow of the emergency exit. Sometimes we got all the way to our door before the sensor turned the lights on! A bit scary when I came home alone.

The apartment was modern and clean, but again lacked any feeling, with no decorations and no storage. Our suitcases were open on the floor and I had to keep my toiletries in my bag. Anything you needed had to balance on the side of the bathroom sink. Not really a one bedroom either, but a studio with glass sliding door to the bed.

Air conditioner didn't work, washing machine didn't work! No window to open, so we got really hot and stuffy, even in moderate weather. Hard to sleep when hot and sweaty! We requested single beds, which were never delivered, as Housekeeping were supposed to unzip the bed. Had our car parking fee refunded for our trouble, which is ok.

The carpark is another thing…not for the faint hearted. It is a corkscrew, where the front of your car meets the wall on the right before your boot leaves the wall on the left. And its two way!! If you are not confident driving this is not for you.

Would I stay again?…not sure. Location is very convenient for Southbank, South Melb and the city, hop on the tram right at the door, McDonalds and 7/11 only 50 metres. Unfortunately, for each thing that went right, something was wrong, so not a great situation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aussies07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Great location to Southbank, Casino, City and Arts precinct. Even South Melbourne markets and restaurans are walking distance.

The 2 bedroom apartment was great for family of four with teenagers for a long stay of four days or more. Will stay again.

Only small issue is the service to the apartment is a bit lacking forgot to leave towels in the room, which is the main requirement for a service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#40 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#60 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Southbank
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Apartments

Property: Aria Hotel Apartments
Address: 285 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aria Hotel Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Melbourne's Southbank precinct, across the road from Crown Casino and within 3 mins walking distance of Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Aria Hotel Apartments features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom boutique serviced apartments in an excellent location with FREE UNLIMITED WIFI. Choose from 3 ranges of product ; Your Favourite (4.5 star), Your Style (4 star) and Your Comfort (3.5 star) All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. Pool and gym access, car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Aria Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing