We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aria Hotel Apartments
Ranked #115 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor with a city view for 2 nights with our kids. It was great value for money. View was good, location was good. Apartment a reasonable size and self contained. Only thing I would strongly suggest is the glass balustrading desperately needed washing and the apartment required a good paint job and overall thorough clean. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwithnoelsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    126
    61
    29
    30
See reviews for
88
64
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed at the property twice now (once in July and again late November 2013) requested the same apartment as last time as was on the 7th floor and had good views of southbank and the casino. Booked 2 apartments (1 later than the other) and managed to get then side by side which was great as there was 4 women and 2 babies so made it easy for us. Apartments are fantastically located within a 5 min walk to southbank precinct (crown, convention centre, DFO South Wharf) which was what we wanted, the apartments are also on the drop off/pick up list of skybus locations so makes it easy to get to/from airport without the added cost of a taxi. Only had a couple of complaints and that was my mum found an unsmoked joint in the freezer of their apartment and when we opened up the sofa bed in our 1 bedroom apartment the sheets had not been cleaned (had hairs on them) from the pervious guests. Is was reported to reception and they apologised for the oversight. ( other beds were very clean so wasn't too concerned but did make me a little more cautious) overall a good stay and would return.

Room Tip: Ask for city view room - we had apartments 71&72
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphys_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We booked 2 apartments for a work function (1 x twin beds, 1 x Queen) for 2 nights last week. when we first got there the reception guy tried to charge double for one of the rooms until I pointed it out. Then he gave us only 1 key for our room, when we got to our room we found out why.... someone was still in it! So, after a lot of time mucking around they finally found us another room - shocking view and single beds - my husband was less than impressed!)
The reception guy said Management would make it up to us somehow for all the stuffing around. When it came time to check out I handed in the keys ...... nothing more was mentioned. I filled out a customer satisfaction form but unfortunately the only guy at reception was the same one we had all the trouble with so..... I doubt he would have handed it in especially after I saw him reading it.

Room Tip: Ring first to confirm your booking as they are totally disorganised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneMargaret1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

TASMANIA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Great value spacious well equipped apartment close to trams , South Bank restaurants, shops, Casino etc. We where travelling from Tasmania and was making an international flight the next day so only stayed one night. It is a good location for access to and from Tullamarine Airport, also we had booked the Colonial Restaurant Tram which only a short walk away and which we recommend as a great Melbourne experience. Also only a fifteen minute easy walk to the free City circular Tram. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful also they are happy to store your cases if you need to. The apartment was well nicely decorated and the kitchenette well equipped, it was also very clean although the paint work had been poorly touched up. There is some traffic noise from the near by motorways, but not to intrusive and is the price to pay for it's convenient location. We will stay at the Plum apartments again in any future visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TasmaniaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Having asked for twin one-bedroom apartment we were upgraded to a two-bedroom apartment without any explanation. Welcome but entailed a check with reception after arrival.
We had also asked to be high up away from traffic noise but were level with the flyover so could not open the windows much or go onto the balcony.
The apartment was clean and tidy but the staff were not particularly helpful. Both enquiries we made about locations of various places of interest ended up with us walking in the wrong direction.
The block is quite a way from the CBD, for the able-bodied this isn't a problem but for my elderly mother it meant we didn't explore as extensively as we might have done.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WagglerTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We called to find out availability and was told they were sold out- The receptionist couldn't wait to get me off the phone, I understand people are busy but no need to be rude! I asked if we would be better booking through booking.com as they still had the room available-I wasn't sure of the process!
She said just book it through them then! in a rude tone, then bang she hung up the phone on me. Needless to say my family wont be staying here....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The apartment was alright. Relatively clean. The door lock was weirdly designed and not clearly indicated to us that the lock had to be done from inside the door. Locking via key doesn't lock the door at all. If we hadn't realise it ourselves, who knows what would've happened. Staff were also extremely unfriendly always putting on agrouchy face when asked a couple questions. We had also asked for a slightly later checkout and was flatly turned down. I will not patronise any of the plum serviced apartments if this is the level of service to expect. There are way better serviced apartments elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Allyson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#47 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Quest Southbank
#62 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Southbank
Experience Bella Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Apartments

Property: Aria Hotel Apartments
Address: 285 City Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aria Hotel Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Melbourne's Southbank precinct, across the road from Crown Casino and within 3 mins walking distance of Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Aria Hotel Apartments features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom boutique serviced apartments in an excellent location with FREE UNLIMITED WIFI. Choose from 3 ranges of product ; Your Favourite (4.5 star), Your Style (4 star) and Your Comfort (3.5 star) All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. Pool and gym access, car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Aria Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing