We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Didnt even stay!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aria Hotel Apartments
Ranked #110 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didnt even stay!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We called to find out availability and was told they were sold out- The receptionist couldn't wait to get me off the phone, I understand people are busy but no need to be rude! I asked if we would be better booking through booking.com as they still had the room available-I wasn't sure of the process!
She said just book it through them then! in a rude tone, then bang she hung up the phone on me. Needless to say my family wont be staying here....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    131
    64
    29
    30
See reviews for
94
68
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

The apartment was alright. Relatively clean. The door lock was weirdly designed and not clearly indicated to us that the lock had to be done from inside the door. Locking via key doesn't lock the door at all. If we hadn't realise it ourselves, who knows what would've happened. Staff were also extremely unfriendly always putting on agrouchy face when asked a couple questions. We had also asked for a slightly later checkout and was flatly turned down. I will not patronise any of the plum serviced apartments if this is the level of service to expect. There are way better serviced apartments elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Allyson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times now, first time in a one bedroom and recently with friends in a two bed/two bath apartment. The location is great and there are a number of options to attack the city on foot or the tram runs straight up Clarendon St and across the Spencer St bridge into the CBD. The apartments are well set out, all the appliances work and the staff both reception and room service are friendly and efficient. I have no doubt that at some stage we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: The city view rooms are well worth the few extra dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandK2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a group (3 adults 1 baby) in a 2 bed 2 bathroom apartment. The apartment is well set out and appointed, located a 20 min walk to Flinders Station. The cityside views are nice but the road noise from the bedrooms was so noisy we all bought earplugs for the second night! Having two bathrooms was handy but just as well given the ensuite shower had no door so couldn't be used. Service was a bit lacking as we asked for a cot but it wasnt set up, and we had to ask for it two more times before it was provided with the front door girl making it clear it was an inconvenience to her. But the early checkin request was granted which was great. Note there is no ramp access but two steps up to the lifts so a bit hard with a pram/heavy cases.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were delighted with the spacious two bedroom apartments which was well appointed. Location was good - across Yarra river and walking distance from Flinders. It was a good launching pad for our Great Ocean Drive to The 12 Apostles.

Parking was cumbersome and tight. Other residents also complained of difficulty in negotiating the narrow ramp.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesdale
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently booked an executive 2bedroom apartment with city view in the Plum Serviced Apartments for 3 nights. Reception was friendly, 24 hour and efficient. When checking in we were given an apartment on the 37th floor of The Bank apartments next door with amazing views across the city to the MCG and Dandenong ranges. Our apartment was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and in a very convenient location. It was serviced daily which we certainly did not expect due to its very reasonable price. It had good catering facilities which was convenient for us as I was staying with my daughter and her young family. It was a very short walk to tram stop no. 55 (Brunswick, Domain) which took us to the back of the Victoria Market. Another short walk in the other direction took us to tram no.112 which travels to St Kilda in one direction or to the city via Collins Street and on to Brunswick in the other.
South Melbourne restaurants, shops and market is within easy walking distance and the Casino and Southbank library is nearby. Onsite parking, although tight, was available and it was easily accessible from the Westgate Bridge coming from the Geelong direction.

Room Tip: Room no. 37 Bank Apartments had a great view! It was warm and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murcha108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed four nights at Plum apartments on the 11th floor with a lovely view (through dirty windows) of the motorway. Thankfully the windows were double glazed so the room was quiet.

Room’s comfortable but a bit tried and in desperate need of some brightening up, painted grey which makes them feel drab. The Queen bed is just two single beds pushed together. There is a sliding door to the bathroom from the bedroom Why? (Wants to be an ensuite but isn’t) I didn’t see the point would have preferred none so I didn’t have to listen to the noisy extractor fan every time someone used the bathroom, plus it didn’t lock properly.

The second bedroom is not really a separate bedroom it was closed off with sliding doors but was big with two comfy single beds.

Crown Casino is a short walk. Staff will call a taxi at no charge but plenty taxis will pull up outside if they see you in the lobby. Reception staff were helpful about all enquiries. McDonalds is just across the road and is open 24 hours (kids loved this).

No free WiFi which is a big let-down.

There is only stairs to get to the lifts (five or six steps) which is not much but is a real pain with a buggy and you have to drag the bags up the stairs, why no wheel chair access.
The apartment was just ok and overall could have been cleaner (mould in the bathroom and air vents were covered in dust). Most things were available in the kitchen. The deadlock on the door very fiddly.

For the quality of the accommodation I think they over priced and expensive, expected more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#44 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#60 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Southbank
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Apartments

Property: Aria Hotel Apartments
Address: 285 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aria Hotel Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Melbourne's Southbank precinct, across the road from Crown Casino and within 3 mins walking distance of Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Aria Hotel Apartments features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom boutique serviced apartments in an excellent location with FREE UNLIMITED WIFI. Choose from 3 ranges of product ; Your Favourite (4.5 star), Your Style (4 star) and Your Comfort (3.5 star) All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. Pool and gym access, car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aria Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing