We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aria Hotel Apartments
Ranked #108 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Lovely apartment and excellent value for Melbourne. My only grumble is the noise from the freeway so I needed ear plugs but we were given a two bed place to compensate so I cannot really complain. The bathroom fan could not be turned off which was noisy too. We were told it could be turned off but we tried several times and couldn't. We nearly got caught in a lift one day as it broke down so we had to walk down many flights of stairs to get out which wasn't the best. We stayed in several places over the 15 days we were away some costing a lot more than Plum yet these apartments would be one of my favorites faults and all.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    132
    64
    29
    30
See reviews for
94
69
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in January for the Australian Open tennis. We have come every year for 5 years and always pick 1 bedroom apartments to stay in based on location and price. This was the best value for money 4+ star place we could find and it turned out to be better than expected. We were put next door in "The Bank Building" and our room was spacious and well equipped with a full kitchen, bathroom, laundry facilities etc. We were able to keep to ourselves and it was pretty quiet other than a tiny bit of road noise. The location was great, tram stop on the corner, Crown casino with tons of restaurants a 2 minute walk, and cafes and a supermarket a 5 minute walk. Close enough to walk to the tennis as well. Would stay here again next time and definitely recommend it to others. Anyone looking for apartment type accomodation near/in the city, check this place out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights for business. First the good. The room we had was a 2 room apartment. It was clean and the layout etc was great. Perfect for a longer stay. Not the nicest of views over the highway, but hey, what can you expect in the location?

All in all I was quite satisfied, it just lacked things that really just made it feel a lot cheaper than what it was. For example the TV quality was pretty bad, internet was cable only and to enter the carpark you just beep your horn and hope reception hears.

If only they put a little more effort into having things set up appropriately for modern expectations, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gringravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Tidy with a full kitchen. Tram line to St Kilda or city pretty much at the door. IGA approx. 200m and Coles approx. 700m away. Two blocks to the casino. Booked a 2 bedroom with 2 x queen bed configuration which they were happy to oblige - was 2 x singles pushed together which may not suit couples, but for two singlies who like a big bed, it was fine. Room servicing is minimal and non-existent on weekends, but that's ok as I use my towels multiple times at home anyway, so it's no different. Reception are happy to provide clean towels, etc if required and there is a rubbish room for disposal of extra rubbish. The freeway is not far away from the rear, but double glazed windows meant that the noise did not affect us. We arrived early and they were happy to hold our bags out the back while we went out, until we got back to check in. I would stay here again as the price was right for peak season (Australian Open).

Room Tip: Rooms on south side (rear) back onto the freeway, but it's ok unless you want the balcony doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is not 5* but neither is the price on weekends. It is bland with grey walls, the apartment has everything it needs but not to a high standard, small TV, picture missing from wall, no weekend service. It is conveniently located close to tram and is waking distance from Flinders St and Southbank. Shop across road in gas station has basic foodstuff. Entrance to car park is very difficult need 2 people to navigate, one in car one outside, for safety. Would I stay here again? Probably not, would look closer to Southbank.

Room Tip: At the back is noisy overlooking the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Centrehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 12th - 16th Jan. location very good. Customer service to us was very good. The one bedroom apartment was clean except for the oven trays which cleaners missed. We had a city view side apartment and enjoyed sitting on balcony as the city noise didnt worry us. I was able to park the car in the secure carpark but check if you have a large vehicle as it would be a tight squeeze. Cleaning services are minimal over weekends so we took our rubbish to the waste room and collected clean towels from reception without any problem. Only one lift has been working since Christmas but not Plums fault as staff have continually phoned service company to repair. If you enjoy walking to see the area this is a good place to stay. We strolled to DFO Docklands, walked to CBD and to art gallery another day taking different routes. We went to dinner at Casino one night food and service was terrible however I recommend if you are in CBD to eat at a tiny restaurant called Golden Orchids in Little Bourke St which is fabulous. Will definitely stay at Plum again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The apartments were conveniently located, though the customer service was appalling.

The traffic lights in the one way car park weren't working and were unsafe.
The lift closed and had my 7 week old baby and mother stuck without a key to be able to get back to our floor or room.

Our bed was two singles pushed together and the floors were dirty.
The servicing consisted of staff changing some towels and taking the rubbish out. On arrival we had to wait after check in time for our room and on leaving we were charged an extra night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#40 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#60 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Southbank
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Apartments

Property: Aria Hotel Apartments
Address: 285 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aria Hotel Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Melbourne's Southbank precinct, across the road from Crown Casino and within 3 mins walking distance of Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Aria Hotel Apartments features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom boutique serviced apartments in an excellent location with FREE UNLIMITED WIFI. Choose from 3 ranges of product ; Your Favourite (4.5 star), Your Style (4 star) and Your Comfort (3.5 star) All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. Pool and gym access, car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Aria Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing