We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Neat and tidy and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aria Hotel Apartments
Ranked #108 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neat and tidy and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Tidy with a full kitchen. Tram line to St Kilda or city pretty much at the door. IGA approx. 200m and Coles approx. 700m away. Two blocks to the casino. Booked a 2 bedroom with 2 x queen bed configuration which they were happy to oblige - was 2 x singles pushed together which may not suit couples, but for two singlies who like a big bed, it was fine. Room servicing is minimal and non-existent on weekends, but that's ok as I use my towels multiple times at home anyway, so it's no different. Reception are happy to provide clean towels, etc if required and there is a rubbish room for disposal of extra rubbish. The freeway is not far away from the rear, but double glazed windows meant that the noise did not affect us. We arrived early and they were happy to hold our bags out the back while we went out, until we got back to check in. I would stay here again as the price was right for peak season (Australian Open).

Room Tip: Rooms on south side (rear) back onto the freeway, but it's ok unless you want the balcony doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    132
    64
    29
    30
See reviews for
94
69
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is not 5* but neither is the price on weekends. It is bland with grey walls, the apartment has everything it needs but not to a high standard, small TV, picture missing from wall, no weekend service. It is conveniently located close to tram and is waking distance from Flinders St and Southbank. Shop across road in gas station has basic foodstuff. Entrance to car park is very difficult need 2 people to navigate, one in car one outside, for safety. Would I stay here again? Probably not, would look closer to Southbank.

Room Tip: At the back is noisy overlooking the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Centrehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 12th - 16th Jan. location very good. Customer service to us was very good. The one bedroom apartment was clean except for the oven trays which cleaners missed. We had a city view side apartment and enjoyed sitting on balcony as the city noise didnt worry us. I was able to park the car in the secure carpark but check if you have a large vehicle as it would be a tight squeeze. Cleaning services are minimal over weekends so we took our rubbish to the waste room and collected clean towels from reception without any problem. Only one lift has been working since Christmas but not Plums fault as staff have continually phoned service company to repair. If you enjoy walking to see the area this is a good place to stay. We strolled to DFO Docklands, walked to CBD and to art gallery another day taking different routes. We went to dinner at Casino one night food and service was terrible however I recommend if you are in CBD to eat at a tiny restaurant called Golden Orchids in Little Bourke St which is fabulous. Will definitely stay at Plum again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The apartments were conveniently located, though the customer service was appalling.

The traffic lights in the one way car park weren't working and were unsafe.
The lift closed and had my 7 week old baby and mother stuck without a key to be able to get back to our floor or room.

Our bed was two singles pushed together and the floors were dirty.
The servicing consisted of staff changing some towels and taking the rubbish out. On arrival we had to wait after check in time for our room and on leaving we were charged an extra night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here from the 26th-1st,
It was awesome and very comfortable


I recently just visited in a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 people, very spacious and relaxing, the apartments were right near everything..
only a couple of blocks away from crown casinos, south warf, DFO docklands wasn't very far away at all..although the reception staff said we could walk there when we took a taxi it seemed pretty far walk to get there so i would definitely recommend taxi's and trams

there is also coles and bakers delight only about 5-10 minute walk up the road which was really handy and convenient.

When we arrived at the apartments we checked out what we had in our apartment's looked through every cupboard and draws the knives and cutlery were a bit dirty but a dishwasher is good for that,

the next morning we realised our fridge and kettle wasn't working too well so we went down to speak to the manager and he got on it right away to send a maintenance guy up,

the beds were very comfortable my bedside light didn't work and the roller door in the bathroom wouldn't open/close properly.

You can also leave your key at reception so you don't loose it when you go sightseeing and can ask for it anytime as they are open 24/7, the night shift guy was very nice and gave us a lot of information what we needed to know,

also if your like me and don't bother reading the terms and conditions, it says that they take only 50% deposit when you first book and the next 50% when you arrive at the apartments, i freaked a little bit about this but they later explained,.

Room service- it says they only change over towels but we got fresh towels, change of bins, they packed our dishwasher and unpacked it if it was in ready,

There is so much to see and do in melbourne and i would have to say going to the Zoo was the best day. And i would recommend doing a Gaol Tour at the Old Melbourne Gaol (do the night it's really scary) and Neighbours Tour...

Places to eat- If i could go back i would eat at Lygon street (italian food) and also the crown casinos have over 100 restaurants so you wont go hungry.

Overall i would definitely stay here again,

Thanks to the staff that helped us while we were there i really appreciate it.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room we booked City View Room, Remember they take 50% Deposit when you book an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 880rebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hi we were a family of 5 and when we arrived our bedroom which was completely clean and fantastically fresh !!
However our room was only ready for 4 people as the fold out bed was not made up!

When we booked with Quickbeds we specifically requested that we were a party of 5 !!!!

We tried to ask the Plum apartement staff to help us out however as their staff had already finished for the day we were unable to get bed sheets for the 5th person in our party.

Not impressed at all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Would not really consider using your services again as this to me was a simple request !

Thanks

Michelle

[--]

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

my family and I spent 2 nights in this apartment and found it very comfortable indeed. the advantage of 2 bedrooms ,each with their own bathroom, was a real bonus.location was good with tram and bus transport outside establishment. supermarkets and takeaways were very handy.the apartments were clean with practically everything that was needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#40 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#59 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Southbank
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Apartments

Property: Aria Hotel Apartments
Address: 285 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aria Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Melbourne's Southbank precinct, across the road from Crown Casino and within 3 mins walking distance of Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Aria Hotel Apartments features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom boutique serviced apartments in an excellent location with FREE UNLIMITED WIFI. Choose from 3 ranges of product ; Your Favourite (4.5 star), Your Style (4 star) and Your Comfort (3.5 star) All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. Pool and gym access, car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Aria Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing