We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great facilities Poor service :(” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aria Hotel Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aria Hotel Apartments
Ranked #108 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great facilities Poor service :(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hi we were a family of 5 and when we arrived our bedroom which was completely clean and fantastically fresh !!
However our room was only ready for 4 people as the fold out bed was not made up!

When we booked with Quickbeds we specifically requested that we were a party of 5 !!!!

We tried to ask the Plum apartement staff to help us out however as their staff had already finished for the day we were unable to get bed sheets for the 5th person in our party.

Not impressed at all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Would not really consider using your services again as this to me was a simple request !

Thanks

Michelle

[--]

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    132
    64
    29
    30
See reviews for
94
69
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

my family and I spent 2 nights in this apartment and found it very comfortable indeed. the advantage of 2 bedrooms ,each with their own bathroom, was a real bonus.location was good with tram and bus transport outside establishment. supermarkets and takeaways were very handy.the apartments were clean with practically everything that was needed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I shared a 2 bedroom apartment with work colleagues. The apartment had a full kitchen, clothes washer and drier. The apartment was very clean. The Melbourne Convention Centre and Crown Casino is a short 5 minute walk. Convenient stores and Mc Donald's are nearby for supplies. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly. The only criticism is NO READING LAMPS by the beds. The apartment had double sliding doors to the small balcony which blocked out any traffic noise. I recommend these apartments and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very disappointed with cleanliness of the room, had to get housekeeping to come and vacuum again. Also advice before arrival re: parking was incorrect.
The staff do seem very helpful and the location and view is pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julester167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Thanks for a great stay!! Great location, great apartment and helpful staff!! Was very put off after I read some of the reviews but after staying at Southbank thinking those people must have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I booked a 1 bedroom apartment for 2 nights (Sat & Sun) as their studio apartments only have double beds but their 1 bedder apartments have queen beds. Upon check in, they advised they only had a double bed left, even though my confirmation says '1X Queen bed'. The hotel staff advised they will swap us into a room with a queen bed on sunday night and the room service person will drop off the key on sunday morning when he/she comes to clean the apartment. However, on sunday, no one came to drop off the key and no one came to clean the apartment. Upon checking out, I called the manager of Plum Apartment, Katherine to made a formal complaint. She was very rude and totally unapologetic, saying it was an oversight. I said that was not good enough and her remark was "What else do you want? You just want your money back? Well that is not going to happen'.
Coming from a Manager, that type of comment is totally unacceptable, unprofessional and unwarranted. That is not the way to treat your customers.
Aside from the rude and unhelpful staff, the apartment itself was rundown and dingy. The photos on the hotel website was pretty deceiving. Customers should note that there is no housekeeping on the wknd. The only saving grace is the location of the hotel.

Room Tip: Customers should note that there is no housekeeping on the wknd. The place to pick up the key is loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This accomodation is not too bad yes there is alot of noise and construction going on next door.The driveway is a disaster for parking Staff are very very un helpful the walls in the rooms are all marked and damaged but the biggest let down of all is THEFT of staff taking money from credit card and how extremly diificult it is to get an answer on why and how it happened i often laugh at petty reviews for trash cans not being emptied and things like that, this is a serious matter and still have not been credited the charge my bank is chasing up now as we could not find a staff member to resolve this matter, so take it from us easy going people DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER STAYING HERE its ridiculous,many friends and family have black banned the plum group and i hope you do to as to save yourself the disapointment in an unpleasant stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mike2020_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#40 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#60 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Southbank
#51 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aria Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aria Hotel Apartments

Property: Aria Hotel Apartments
Address: 285 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aria Hotel Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Melbourne's Southbank precinct, across the road from Crown Casino and within 3 mins walking distance of Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre, Aria Hotel Apartments features 1, 2 and 3 bedroom boutique serviced apartments in an excellent location with FREE UNLIMITED WIFI. Choose from 3 ranges of product ; Your Favourite (4.5 star), Your Style (4 star) and Your Comfort (3.5 star) All apartments are fully self-contained and equipped with oven, microwave, gas cook top, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Added features include 24 hour Front Desk /Reception, Breakfast Vouchers, Room Service. Pool and gym access, car parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aria Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Plum Serviced Apartments Southbank Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing